Alex Winston announce Summer dates with Neon Trees and ‘Careless’ JD Samson remix

By on March 31, 2015
Alex Winston

Alex Winston will tour this June in in support of her forthcoming sophomore album, out this summer on 300 Entertainment. When she hits the road with her friends in Neon Trees in a few months, fans lucky enough to catch Winston live will get a taste of the impressive performances she brought to this year’s SXSW. In Austin, SPIN observed the “sure-to-be-pop-sensation” as she “slashed, clawed, and wailed through a set of deceptively sweet power jams,” and Idolator caught one of her “killer sets”, leaving them enchanted with the way Winston “worked the stage with fire.” In conjunction with the tour announcement Winston is releasing the JD Samson (Le Tigre, MEN) remix of her single “Careless”. Stream the remix and view tour dates below.

Credit: Emily Knecht

Stream the original “Careless” and 7″ b-side “We Got Nothing


“Alex Winston makes the kind of big, meticulously crafted pop songs that sound anthemic without coming across as soulless.”- Stereogum 


Winston has already garnered praise for her latest work on the strength of “Careless”, which Stereogum glowingly lauded as “superb” while Grantland emphatically endorsed as “the score you’d want were you about to hang glide off a cliff.” While the more personal nature of her recent work is certainly a thematic departure from the material found on her most previous album King Con, the shift is also indicative of Winston’s maturation as a musician and songwriter who finds herself more confident than ever in her own self expression.


Winston has spent the past year anchorless as she bounced back and forth between New York, LA, Detroit, and spaces in between while working on her new album. “I really like meeting new people and hearing their stories,” she explains, “I think that’s why I like traveling a lot.” That restless curiosity has been a constant driver and source of creative energy for the young but seasoned musician. This last month Winston bought that verve into the studio with producer Catherine Marks (whose credits include PJ Harvey, Death Cab for Cutie, and Interpol), while she put the final touches on her forthcoming album.

Upcoming Tour Dates:

* = w/ Neon Trees



06 – Seattle, WA – Showbox *

07 – Portland, OR – Wonder Ballroom *

09 – San Francisco, CA – The Fillmore *

11 – Los Angeles, CA – The Fonda Theatre *

12 – Las Vegas, NV – The Pool at The Cosmopolitan *

15 – Englewood, CO – Gothic Theater *

17 – Austin, TX – Emo’s Alternative Lounge *

18 – Dallas, TX – Granada Theater *

19 – Houston, TX – House of Blues *

22 – St. Louis, MO – The Ready Room *

24 – Grand Rapids, MI – The Intersection *

25 – Minneapolis, MN – Varsity Theater *

26 – Council Bluffs, IA – Stir Cove at Harrah’s Casino *


Stay posted in the coming weeks for further news and album release date information. 


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.