Among Giants: Truth Hurts review

By on October 26, 2012

Technically, vocalist Greg Hughes can’t “sing.” At least not in the way we usually consider singing. It’s a bit more conversational in most songs on the album, a style which fits this trio’s mostly acoustic feel quite well. The album starts off slow but builds up exponentially by the second track.

There are a handful of songs that stand out above the rest. Lyrically, “A Letter” sounds like it may have started off as just that before it began to rhyme, at which point they added a folky guitar backdrop. Everything speeds up with the intricate strumming in “Cross Your Heart” and the punk-influenced duo “What’s The Point?” and “Albert Rhymestein.”

Before I get too ahead of myself talking about the more uptempo songs on the album, one of the strongest tracks, “There Is a Ghost” starts off slower – though it does build up into a full-band assault by the end. “Get Your Shit Straight” is bound to be passive aggressively posted on someone’s Facebook wall with a comment like “Thought you’d like this song.”

Finally, “East Orlando” is one of the better acoustic numbers, and “That Time of Year” closes the album out strong. You can (and should) download Truth Hurts for free here:

RIYL: The Front Bottoms’ and Flatfoot 56’s bastard child with a bit of Joyce Manor

Track Listing:

1. Late Nights
2. The Pond
3. A Letter
4. Cross Your Heart
5. What’s The Point?
6. Get Your Shit Straight
7. There Is a Ghost
8. All I Want
9. Pack Rat
10. Albert Rhymestein
11. East Orlando
12. That Time of Year

Orlando based Among Giants (Osker, Paul Baribeau, Joyce Manor, etc.) recently released their much anticipated album Truth Hurts. This is the band’s first full-length recording. Among Giants has primarily been a solo acoustic act from singer/songwriter Greg Hughes, but for upcoming live performances, as well as several songs on the album, Hughes has added Zach Anderson and CJ Whelan.

Check them out here: 

Review by Alisha Kirby – HHM

Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.