André Obin to release ‘Endorphin’ May 5 on Sky Council Recordings; stream new track now

By on March 16, 2015
André Obin


Dark synth technician André Obin will release his third full-length album, Endorphin on May 5 via Sky Council Recordings. The title track is available now for stream and sharing and Obin says, “Musically, it’s the brightest feeling cut on the album, but lyrically it concerns a disconnection between a person’s private and public life that fills the heart with anarchy. As the writer and producer, I am often torn in two different directions when I listen back to it.”

Informed by the late 70’s Bowie / Eno collaborations in Berlin, much of the feel of Endorphin is experimental, moody and has an ethereal sensuality. André combined his love of vintage synthesizers together with his passion for cult sci-fi films to give much of Endorphin the feel of a long lost cinema score. AO has always toed the line between electronic producer and indie songwriter and he shines on both ends of those spectrums throughout the album’s nine tracks. Obin describes the latest offering as, “a synth-tinted soundtrack for traversing an endless landscape in a small craft.”

Reflecting back on several years of touring, the struggle between excitement and displacement also permeates the album. The road’s presence shows through examples like the drums on “Last Night on Earth” which were programmed on a cross-country flight between Boston and Los Angeles. That basis allowed the song to conjure a sense of flight and one’s surrender of control at 30,000 feet.

André Obin debuted in 2008 with a pair of releases for the Moodgadget label. He followed up with a year of heavy touring and a continuum of releases with Europe based labels Trouw, Klopfgeist, and Mina. By 2012 Obin had already built a name big enough to earn ‘Performer of the Year’ at the Boston Music Awards. In 2013 AO dropped his first full length, The Arsonist on NYC label Sky Council, a widely praised tour de force of dark wave melodies and retro inspired synthscapes. More touring and appearances at SXSW and CMJ as well as remixes for T.H. White, People at Parties and Artisan Loyalist rounded out the rest of the year.

The Arsonist’s follow up, Ways of Escape arrived spring 2014. The record showed André’s sound undergoing an occasionally less than gradual shift into a more moody, tautly crafted and unique side of synth pop. Impose Magazine praised Ways of Escape with, “The synth visionary is one of the best arguments in favor of, and for the durability of the digital composition generation.” All Music added, “Obin’s blending of the slow, hefty and atmospheric, sounds like the work of someone armed with encyclopedic knowledge of his inspirations and the ability to be distinctive.”

Obin describes the creative process for the Endorphin as “completely hyperreal.” Musically, the album explores the lines where “man and machine coexist in eerie harmony, getting lit as the grid goes down.”

André will be touring behind Endorphin with dates to be announced soon.


(Credit Nicole Elkins)


Endorphin Track List

1 – Endorphin

2 – Further Away

3 – Ransom

4 – Nibo Moon

5 – Beautiful & Anxious

6 – Interference

7 – Ambivalence

8 – Last Night On Earth

9 – The Unveiling


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.