Ann Pragg Set to Release Bitter Fruit May 7th via Wonderland Archives

By on March 23, 2013



Wonderland Archives is thrilled to announce the May 7th release of Bitter Fruit, the debut full-length album by Ann Pragg, featuring new single “Demolition Dust”. Ann Pragg is the alter ego of Gainesville, Florida’s Matt Radick (Holopaw, Blood River). He blends the intimacy of Nick Drake, along with the brooding of Smog or Richard Buckner, with a pop sensibility. Is it gypsy blues? Desert pop? Swamp folk? Whatever the case, it’s infectious, the melodies brightening an underlying loneliness that’s both eerie and desperately appealing. 

Amassing a vault of home recordings over the years, Radick has mined this archive to create Bitter Fruit, a stunning debut. Recorded on cassette 8 track, the album builds upon the intimacy and warmth found on his early recordings and gives them new life, layering hushed vocal harmonies, swells of fuzz, and crystalline synths. Lyrically cryptic, Radick has a vocabulary all his own. His songs drift through dark territory, though often come wrapped and packaged as jangly pop. From the somber beauty of ‘First Light’ to the expansive darkness of ‘Demolition Dust,’ each song on Bitter Fruit is rich, its grace unfolding in the details. 

Wonderland Archives is a Queens based record label. Founded by Gainesville, Florida transplants Boyd Shropshire (Kurt Vile, Human Television) and Cassandra Ferland, it fosters a handcrafted sound and collaborative environment among its artists.

New Single “Demolition Dust”


Track Listing 
1. Demolition Dust
2. Januarium 
3. Long Dark Valley 
4. First Light 
5. MR’s Dream 
6. Pauper’s Wine 
7. Back to Grace
8. Bitter Fruit
9. Prison Clothes
10. Winter Creeps
11. Equinox


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.