ANNA HAAS “Crazy Is” Out Now | Named One of Lucky Magazine’s “Best New and Stylish Artists”

By on September 22, 2012

“Her debut album Crazy Is has the proud vocals of a Carole King or Sara Bareilles, with the musical daring of Ben Folds or Mika. She peppers her songs with unexpected breaks, horn lines, and chants, then ties them all together with a lot of soul.”
“She’s a Nashville-born fiery…singer-songwriter whose powerhouse belt, unpredictable antics, soulful piano playing, and honest lyrics have placed her in a category with the likes of Regina Spektor, Fiona Apple, Tina Turner, Liza Minelli, and even Janis Joplin.”

Anna Haas, the fiery and theatrical singer / songwriter / entertainer extraordinaire, sizzles with the anticipated physical release of her debut album Crazy Is, available for purchase today, September 18, 2012. With red-hot moxie to match her crimson tresses, Anna Haas is a triple threat whose dramatic appeal scintillates on her debut album through unabashed lyrics and electrifying vocals.
Crazy Is took Haas nearly two years to prepare, record, and package. The album was recorded in multiple studios throughout her hometown of Nashville and her adopted home of New York, and serves as a tribute to both cities as well as the artists who have inspired her. When listening to Crazy Is, one can expect to hear the lyrical wit and quirky piano technique of Regina Spektor, the angst of Fiona Apple, the emotionally compelling and climactic songwriting of Jeff Buckley, and the soulful vocal reflections of Janis Joplin. But Haas’s voice is all her own – the crux that a legion of instrumentation swarms around. The rawness in her voice and in the heavy, soulful piano, ripping guitar solos, bluesy pedal steel, horns, and symphony of strings gives the record life, integrity, and strength.
Haas’s debut album is a timeless yet modern tapestry of stories and musings blending sarcasm, metaphor, and absolute vulnerability. Haas writes from an honest and sometimes controversial place as her lyrics shift in subject matter from a loving homage to a secret relationship, to emotional dependence on love and drugs, and the imagined loneliness of Marilyn Monroe.
Anna Haas grew up in Nashville, writing music and regularly attending live shows. She left her hometown in 2003 to pursue her love of acting and dance at Emerson College in Boston where she found herself singing in blues clubs, choreographing modern dance, creating installation art, and performing lead roles in theater. Shortly thereafter, Haas made her way to New York to continue pursuing her eclectic passions. Her theatrical experience and education shine through every aspect of her art – her songwriting, stage presence, and music videos. Watch the video for first single “Maypole,” co-directed and choreographed by Haas, here.

Anna Haas will be announcing national tour dates slated for later this fall in support of the new Crazy Is album release.

Anna Haas – Crazy Is  
1. Crazy Is
2. Song of a Suffering Child
3. High
4. Maypole
5. After Hours
6. Marilyn
7. Just the Breath of
8. The Real New York
9. Lilla
10. Train Song
11. Find Your Home



Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.