Asleep to Release New Album, “Unpleasant Companion”, on Feb. 7th!

By on December 17, 2011

To Release New Album, Unpleasant Companion, On February 7th!

The indie rock four-piece, known as Asleep, will be releasing their new album Unpleasant Companion on February 7th. The album was recorded in four days to capture a live dynamic onto 16-track 2-inch analog tape with legendary Chicago engineer Steve Albini (Nirvana, Pixies, PJ Harvey, Page and Plant, Iggy Pop and the Stooges). The result was a raw and powerful rock sound that will put the listener right inside their live experience! For more information, please visit:
Consisting of Todd Kaden (vocals/guitar), Jon Dean (guitar), Cory Snyder (bass/vocals), and Shawn Logan (drums/percussion), Asleep is a rock band with an experimental focus. They write pop songs that reflect a rusty optimism prevalent throughout their northeast Ohio surroundings. Their two previous releases, All These Things We’ll Never Need” recorded by Bill Korecky (Mushroomhead) and Between, Above, and Below produced by Mike Watts (As Tall As Lions, The Dear Hunter), received great reviews selling over 10,000 physical copies.
Asleep has performed at SXSW 2010 & 2011, opened for Deftones, as well as sharing the stage with The Flaming Lips, Death Cab for Cutie, Sonic Youth and Kings of Leon at Blossom Music Center and Tower City Amphitheater in Cleveland, OH. Having toured the midwest, northeast and south various times, performing well over 300 shows since late 2006, Asleep is ready to take the world by storm with Unpleasant Companion.
Unpleasant Companion is a summation of their musicianship, uniqueness and endurance. The first single “Hip To Deaf” showcases their raw sound and catchy beat, leaving you no choice but to move to the music. While “Deserted”, their second single, paints a picture with their thought-provoking lyrics, frequently reminiscent of Incubus’ Brandon Boyd.
“The album’s central theme explores how we manage to stay so addictively connected yet simplistically separated from one another through the same digital loops in the current fabric of the information age” states Asleep.
Asleep will release Unpleasant Companion on February 7th. Please go to for more updates.

Track Listing:
01. Hip To Deaf
02. Drama Junkie
03. Deserted
04. Delirium Tremens
05. Must’ve Been
06. Big Sister
07. Static Mirrors
08. Magik Numbers


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.