Aspiga (RIYL: Weakerthans, Against Me!, Japandroids) To Release “Every Last Piece” Via Paper + Plastick

By on September 6, 2012

Three-piece New Jersey punk-rockers Aspiga have announced a new full-length record, titled Every Last Piece, that will be made available via Paper + Plastick Records on vinyl and digital formats on Nov. 20. The band has also announced a two-week tour with Broadcaster that begins this week.

Recommended If You Like: The Weakerthans, Jawbreaker, Japandroids, Against Me!

Every Last Piece is Aspiga’s third full-length release and debut for Paper + Plastick. It follows up the band’s 7″ split with Hanalei, which came out via Jump Start Records. The new album is seven songs long, amounting to 24 minutes of runtime, during which Aspiga ranges from slower, emo-indie parts to heart-racing, yelping punk portions.

Founded in 2006, Aspiga’s three members are no newcomers to playing music, but Every Last Piece is the first proper, thought-out recording for the band in its six years of existence. While previous releases have been rushed or simply recorded in basements, vocalist / guitarist Kevin Day says that Every Last Piece is the most real representation to date of Aspiga’s true sound. 

“I think this is going to be great for us in two ways,” Day says. “First, this is going to be a release that truly represents the way that this band sounds. Second, we are working with a label that is going to allow more people to hear this album. My goal for this record is to connect with other people. Whether it’s one person or a 2000 people, I just want people to put this record on and say, ‘Hey, I’ve felt this way before.'”

The trio recorded its new album in late January of 2012 with producer Dave Downham at Gradwell House in Haddon Heights, N.J., a studio that Day calls a staple in the southern New Jersey scene. While there, Day, drummer Ray Solowij and bassist Alec McVey focused on fleshing out songs that were conceived in Day’s room and composed in Ray’s basement. 

“The three of us had never entered a professional studio before and actually laid down any music together,” Day says. “As a three piece band, we were looking at ways to avoid having a thin sound but also trying to avoid massive layers of instrumentation that we wouldn’t be able to replicate live. I think we did a great job at making sure both of these ideals were met. In all honesty, I think this is the first true representation of how this band is supposed to sound; it’s raw and it urges the listener to feel something.”

Aspiga – Every Last Piece
November 20, 2012
Paper + Plastick Records

1. Save Your Spit
2. Welcome To the Sympathy Party
3. Winter Cleaning
4. Users
5. Parade On Me
6. On The Defensive
7. The Excavation