Australia’s Glass Towers release debut album June 17 on Dine Alone/HUB

By on June 8, 2014


Photo credit: Aleksandar

Australia’s GLASS TOWERS is gearing up to release its #1 debut LP Halcyon Days in Canada June 17 on Dine Alone Records / HUB.  Watch the video premiere for the infectious track “Griffin” HERE.

Halcyon Days was released in Australia late last year debuting at #1 on the Australian Independent Records chart, and enjoyed heavy airplay from national radio broadcaster Triple J.  The release also helped earn the band 2 nods at the Rolling Stone Australia Magazine Awards for “Best New Talent” and “ “Single of the Year” alongside Lorde.


The Sydney-based (via-Byron Bay) band is at the vanguard of a new breed of Australian pop/rock bands who are creating waves with their brand of sun-drenched melody, which carries with it an undercurrent of  darkness and weight. The songwriting speaks to the universal struggle faced in the transition from youth to young adult-hood, with most of the songs written by lead singer Ben Hannam when he was still in his early teens, and forged in the summer of 2008 with his newly formed band of high school mates.


Glass Towers’ list of influences goes some way to explaining the new album’s diversity; at once contemporary and buzzy, yet instantly familiar. From the literary genius of Jack Kerouac to the madcap mind of Syd Barrett and effortless cool of Lou Reed, from a childhood raised on a somewhat oddball mixture of Neil Diamond, Roxy Music and Simon & Garfunkel, to the paintings of J.M.W Turner and photographs of Robert Doisneau – all have affected the brilliant mood of Halcyon Days.


For a band who only recently arrived into their 20s, Glass Towers have already amassed a wealth of experience, touring relentlessly the past few years supporting acts such as Metric, Maximo Park, The Kooks, Dappled Cities, Neil Finn (Crowded House), as well as performing at Splendour In The Grass festival, and in Japan and the UK.  Glass Towers will return to North America this summer.  Canadian will be announced as they become available.


Halcyon Days Track List:

01.  In This City

02.  Castles

03.  Jumanji

04.  Tonight

05.  Gloom

06.  Halcyon

07.  Lust For Life

08.  You’re Better

09.  Griffin

10.  The Best Of Friends

11.  Foreign Times

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.