AUTUMN announce details and reveal front art of upcoming new album “Cold Comfort”! New song posted!

By on September 26, 2011

AUTUMN announce details and reveal front art of upcoming new album “Cold Comfort”! New song posted!Dutch heavy rock collective AUTUMN make a return to the front line with their new album, Cold Comfort, to be released November 8th via Metal Blade Records!

This is the band’s fifth full-length effort, their third for Metal Blade Records. It offers a collection of striking songs blended into a diverse and yet surprisingly compact album, one that AUTUMN considers to be their most personal and meaningful to date.

While AUTUMN’s roots remain firmly planted in heavy rock/guitar-oriented soil, their branches are stretching out to more progressive musical genres and alternative approaches to the sound of individual songs. Guitarist Jens van der Valk elaborates: “In terms of sound we realized there were still leaps to be taken out of our comfort zone and into unthought-of possibilities. As a first step in the right direction, our main focus was on a more open, transparent sound, one through which the often multi-layered nature of our songs would be optimally channeled.”

AUTUMN needed not look far for a man to put at the helm with the right pioneering philosophy for the band to begin taking leaps: Erik-Jan Dodd, AUTUMN ‘s live sound engineer since the My New Time era, envisioned a more vintage approach forCold Comfort. An experiment the band was all too eager to embrace, explains guitarist Mats van der Valk. “If there’s anyone who knows what we’re all about and more importantly: what we could potentially be all about, it’s E-J.”

Cold Comfort will be released November 8th in North America, and November 4th/7th in Europe!

Track listing Cold Comfort:
1. The Scarecrow
2. Cold Comfort
3. Black Stars In A Blue Sky
4. Retrospect
5. Alloy
6. End Of Sorrow
7. Naeon
8. Truth Be Told (Exhale)
9. The Venamoured

Check out the title track and first single Cold Comfort and the pre-order options at

Marjan Welman – vocals
Jerome Vrielink- bass
Jan Munnik – keyboards
Jan Grijpstra – drums
Mats van der Valk – guitar, grunts & backing vocals
Jens van der Valk – guitar & backing vocals

Confirmed AUTUMN live shows:
04/11/11 – NL – Sneek – Bolwerk
05/11/11 – NL – Hoorm – Manifesto
11/11/11 – NL – Roermond – Azijnfabriek
17/11/11 – NL – Amstelveen – P60
18/11/11 – NL – Den Haag – Bazart
19/11/11 – NL – Zierikzee – Brogum
26/11/11 – NL – Zeist – Peppel 


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.