Barren Earth launches “The Devil’s Resolve” mini-site

By on January 27, 2012

Sophomore record due out March 2012 on Peaceville Records
HELSINKI, FINLAND – Finnish progressive death metal outfit, Barren Earth, has launched a mini-site in anticipation of its sophomore record, The Devil’s Resolve, featuring an album sampler, teaser video, desktop background, studio diary and more at: The Devil’s Resolve is due out on March 13th in North America on Peaceville Records.

The Devil’s Resolve track list is…1. Passing Of The Crimson Shadows
2. The Rains Begin
3. Vintage Warlords
4. As It Is Written
5. The Dead Exiles
6. Oriental Pyre
7. White Field
8. Where All Stories End
9. Martyrs of Devotion (Special Edition)
10. World in Haze (Special Edition)
The Devil’s Resolve can be pre-ordered now through the Peaceville Records web-store as a special edition CD:, complete with two bonus tracks and slipcase cover, or on limited edition vinyl: Mixed by Dan Swanö (Opeth/Katatonia) at Unisound, The Devil’s Resolve continues with all the trademarks one has come to associate with Barren Earth: brutal riffs, gloomy growls, majestic melodies, as well as acoustic and progressive passages. But this time the band has delved even deeper, taking this sophomore effort to the extremes through musical landscapes encompassing brutal death metal, doomy vocals, trippy 70’s prog. lunacy, pastoral passages and even bagpipes. Artwork comes courtesy of notable US-based artist Paul Romano (Mastodon).

Barren Earth originally appeared in 2009 with the ‘Our Twilight’ EP, followed quickly by the debut album, The Curse Of The Red River (2010). Both releases met with a rapturous reception from fans and critics alike, including awards for best new band and best album. Following the release of The Curse Of The Red River, Barren Earth has played several shows, not only in its native country of Finland, but in continental Europe, and most importantly, in North America, where as a part of the Finnish Metal Tour 2, the group played 28 shows alongside countrymen Ensiferum and Finntroll. This has naturally spurred the band’s creativity further, and the results of this can be heard on Barren Earth’s second album, The Devil’s Resolve. Stay tuned to the official Barren Earth Facebook page at: for more information on Barren Earth and The Devil’s Resolve. And keep your eyes peeled for the new music video for the track, “The Rains Begin.”

Barren Earth is…

Mikko Kotamäki – Vocals (Swallow The Sun)

Olli-Pekka Laine – Bass (Ex-Amorphis, Mannhai) 

Kasper Mårtenson –Keyboards (Ex-Amorphis, Ben Granfelt Band)

Janne Perttilä – Guitar (Rytmihäiriö)

Marko Tarvonen – Drums (Moonsorrow)

Sami Ylisirniö – Guitar (Kreator, Waltari)

Barren Earth online…


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.