Barren Earth reveals “The Devil’s Resolve” cover art, track list

By on January 13, 2012

Special edition CD and limited vinyl pre-orders now available
HELSINKI, FINLAND – Finland’s face of progressive death metal, Barren Earth, has unveiled the cover art and track list for the band’s sophomore record, The Devil’s Resolve, out March 13th on Peaceville Records. Artwork comes courtesy of notable US-based artist Paul Romano (Mastodon).

The Devil’s Resolve track list is…1. Passing Of The Crimson Shadows
2. The Rains Begin
3. Vintage Warlords
4. As It Is Written
5. The Dead Exiles
6. Oriental Pyre
7. White Field
8. Where All Stories End
9. Martyrs of Devotion (Special Edition)
10. World in Haze (Special Edition)
The Devil’s Resolve can be pre-ordered now through the Peaceville Records web-store as a special edition CD:, complete with two bonus tracks and slipcase cover, or on limited edition vinyl: Mixed by Dan Swanö (Opeth/Katatonia) at Unisound, The Devil’s Resolve continues with all the trademarks one has come to associate with Barren Earth: brutal riffs, gloomy growls, majestic melodies, as well as acoustic and progressive passages. But this time the band has delved even deeper, taking this sophomore effort to the extremes through musical landscapes encompassing brutal death metal, doomy vocals, trippy 70’s prog lunacy, pastoral passages and even bagpipes.

Barren Earth originally appeared in 2009 with the ‘Our Twilight’ EP, followed quickly by the debut album, The Curse Of The Red River (2010). Both releases met with a rapturous reception from fans and critics alike, including awards for best new band and best album.
Following the release of The Curse Of The Red River, Barren Earth has played several shows, not only in its native country of Finland, but in continental Europe, and most importantly, in North America, where as a part of the Finnish Metal Tour 2, the group played 28 shows alongside countrymen Ensiferum and Finntroll. This has naturally spurred the band’s creativity further, and the results of this can be heard on Barren Earth’s second album, The Devil’s Resolve. Stay tuned to the official Barren Earth Facebook page at: for more information on Barren Earth and The Devil’s Resolve. And keep your eyes peeled for the new music video for the track, “The Rains Begin.”

Barren Earth is…

Mikko Kotamäki – Vocals (Swallow The Sun)

Olli-Pekka Laine – Bass (Ex-Amorphis, Mannhai) 

Kasper Mårtenson –Keyboards (Ex-Amorphis, Ben Granfelt Band)

Janne Perttilä – Guitar (Rytmihäiriö)

Marko Tarvonen – Drums (Moonsorrow)

Sami Ylisirniö – Guitar (Kreator, Waltari)

Barren Earth online…


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.