Big Wreck release new album ‘Ghosts’ Jul.15 on Rounder Records

By on May 29, 2014


Canadian rockers Big Wreck have announced that they will release their new album, Ghosts, on July 15 in the US via Rounder Records.

The album is the highly anticipated follow-up to last year’s critically acclaimed Albatross, which they released after an eleven year hiatus. Revolver’s Gary Graff heralded the album as “a welcome return,” and observed that Big Wreck “knows how to bring the heavy when they need to.” Guitar World’s Rocco Sofee called it an “electrifying album of gut-crunching rock and roll,” and Zachary Houle, writing in PopMatters, proclaimed “It makes one giddy with glee that the band could still sound so good.”

Recorded at Revolution Studios and Vespa Studios in Toronto over a six month period, Ghosts was produced by Big Wreck’s singer-guitarist Ian Thornley, alongside producers Nick Raskulinecz (Foo Fighters, Rush) and Eric Ratz (Monster Truck, Billy Talent). While Ghosts stays true to the driving intensity and unbridled guitar virtuosity that has always defined Big Wreck, it also explores bold new aural territory.

“Now I find that I’m finally getting through a lot of concepts and tricks that I’ve always wanted to try on a record but had previously put on the back burner or even forgotten about,” says Thornley. “This time, nothing felt forced or rushed, everything just felt right, and it’s so great to finally be able to indulge and to have that be okay.”

Atmospherically, Ghosts explores an incredibly wide range of sounds, some that fans might not expect to hear from the band. “The creative palette is a lot broader on this record, and sonically there’s a lot more going on that I just haven’t heard before,” notes Ian. “This record has it all for me.” Having tackled everything from piano interludes to ‘80s-inspired gated reverb, Ghosts reveals a side of Big Wreck that is unabashedly musical. “If Albatross sort of re-opened the door for us as Big Wreck, then this new album definitely kicks it down.”

The band will announce select US dates shortly.

Ghosts track listing:

  1. A Place To Call Home
  2. I Digress
  3. Ghosts
  4. My Life
  5. Hey Mama
  6. Diamonds
  7. Friends
  8. Still Here
  9. Break
  10. Off And Running
  11. Come What May
  12. War Baby
  13. A Place To Call Home (Reprise)


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.