Black Taxi to release new album ‘Electroshock Death Grip’ Sept.23 on No Shame

By on September 9, 2014
Black Taxi

No Shame is pleased to announce the release of Black Taxi’s new album and third LP Electroshock Death Grip, which will be available on September 23. It’s the Brooklyn-based band’s follow up to the Chiaroscuro EP.

Black Taxi are Ezra Huleatt, William Longyear Mayo, Krisana Soponpong and Daniel Gould.

Electroshock Death Grip will be available for pre-order at iTunes on September 9. The 10-song album was recorded at No Shame Labs in New York City and produced by Black Taxi and Jacob Wagner.

Black Taxi’s music, and particularly this album, defies simple categorization. Their style has been dubbed “grit pop” and “dance punk” because that’s exactly what it sounds like and due to its refusal to think inside the box.

In effect, Black Taxi create their own lane, musically, and they are inviting you along for the thrill ride.

With Electroshock Death Grip, think the “anything goes” ethos of The Talking Heads or even Jamiroquai dosed with a dash of Daft Punk-with-Pharrell Williams. It’s 10 tracks of both good time and feel good music that will have you tapping your toes and grooving in your chair. In fact, Electroshock Death Grip challenges you not to move in concert with its crazy catchy melodics and singalong choruses.

The first single will be “Final Days” and it will have its online premiere shortly.

EDG is another high-contrast piece for Black Taxi,” Black Taxi’s William Longyear Mayo said. “Most of the songs are danceable pop jams with heavily funked out guitar lines a la Nile Rodgers and Daft Punk. The tracks are fun and rhythmic, but at the same time laced with the dark, sarcastic lyrics Black Taxi are known for. The album is introspective and retrospective in its lyrical content and futuristic in its production. Moog synths, fat trumpet lines and jangly tambourines pay their respects to 1970s-era funk and disco records while deep, punchy drum production gives the album an ultra-modern feel. Enjoy on vinyl with a nice pair of headphones, or at your local dance dive bar.”

Electroshock death grip

Electroshock Death Grip Track Listing:

“21st Century”
“Electroshock Death Grip”
“Final Days”
“Even Further”
“Only Room for One Ninja In This Town”
“Take Off the Edge”
“Into the Night”

The band is also currently touring through mid-September. Dates are below.


9/11/14 – San Francisco, CA | The Milk Bar
9/12/14 – San Diego, CA | San Diego Music Thing
9/13/14 – Los Angeles, CA | Bootleg Theater
9/15/14 – Hollywood, CA | Bardot-Hollywood
9/18/14 – Austin, TX | Stubb’s Austin
9/19/14 – San Antonio, TX | 502 Bar
9/20/14 – Fort Worth, TX | Lola’s Saloon
9/21/14 – Little Rock, AR | Stickyz Rock N’ Roll Chicken Shack


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.