Blacklist Royals release new album ‘Die Young With Me’ on Krian Music Group/ UMG

By on June 10, 2014

Blacklist Royals

“Die Young With Me”, the highly anticipated full length from Blacklist Royals is OUT TODAY via Krian Music Group/ UMG! The album was produced by Ted Hutt (Chuck Ragan, Lucero, The Gaslight Anthem) and received 9/10 stars from Under The Gun Review who called the album “…the rock ‘n’ roll record that 2014 needs. Laden with composed thought and texture, it is a record that caters to the musical fan ready and waiting to be taken on a true journey.” Fans can now purchase the album on iTunes here:


The album is streaming in its entirety on MSN Music‘s Listening Booth here:


Composed of twin brothers, Nat and Rob Rufus, the album is a personal account of a childhood spent battling cancer, the album unfolds as a fluid thing, exploring new directions both sonically and lyrically with candor and heart like never before.


The first song that emerged for the truly autobiographical album was the title track, “Die Young With Me,” a propulsive, garage-inspired rock song. Rob and Nat, who shared the responsibility of writing the lyrics, recount their experiences and those of the people around them, capturing the anxiety and tragedy and overwhelming hope involved with any life struggle. All of the musicians’ inspirations converge in the songs: “Out In The Dark” has a surging Americana tone while the rollicking “Hearts On Fire” is a blood-pumping, dirt-rubbed rocker and “Missing Something” embraces an introspective folk sound. On the other end of the spectrum, “Twenty Six and Gone” draws back the instrumentation to sparse indie rock ambience, allowing the song’s mournful lyrics to stand out. Ultimately, the connection between Rob and Nat underscores the music itself.


The band premiered their first single “Hearts On Fire” with Vice’s Music blog Noisey and the title track “Die Young With Me” with USA Today. “Die Young With Me” streamed early in its entirety exclusively with A.V. Club late last week.


“It was supposed to sound like two brothers in a room playing music together,” Nat says. “That’s what the whole record is about – two brothers who stand side by side and don’t give up. I think that’s something anyone can relate to regardless of his or her specific struggle. The record is about this really heavy idea. It’s like opening a diary for everyone to read.”


“Die Young With Me” – Track Listing

1. Righteous Child

2. Missing Something

3. The Open Door

4. Out In The Dark

5. Twenty Six And Gone

6. The Common Things

7. Skeleton Crew

8. Die Young With Me

9. Hearts On Fire

10. Last Days Of The Suicide Kid

11. Take It / Leave It


Blacklist Royals will be performing select dates of the 2014 Vans Warped Tour. Tickets for the tour are on sale now: The band has also teamed up with Grooveshark to giveaway prize packages for the release of “Die Young With Me”. Fans can enter now to win signed copies of the album and exclusive Blacklist Royals merchandise. A grand-prize winner will receive two tickets to Warped Tour and a meet and greet with the band. Enter here:!/hudlyston/broadcast


Warped Tour Dates:


July 24 Atlanta, GA – Aaron’s Amphitheatre at Lakewood

July 25 St. Petersburgh, FL – Vinoy Park

July 26 West Palm Beach, FL – Cruzan Amphitheatre

July 27 Orlando, FL – Central Florida Fairgrounds

July 28 Charlotte, NC – PNC Music Pavilion Charlotte

July 29 Nashville, TN – Tennessee State Fairgrounds

Nat and Rob Rufus grew up in a small town of West Virginia and have been in a band together since the age of 13. When the twins turned 17, Rob was diagnosed with a rare (stage 4) cancer and for the next 3 years lived in hospitals where he received treatment and underwent many surgeries. Now, overcoming the odds, Blacklist Royals have spent the last three years on the road supporting their debut full length Semper Liberi touring the US, UK, Canada and Europe non-stop. They have performed with acts such as NOFX, Face To Face and Less Than Jake and have been apart of The Fest, Warped Tour, Groezrock, SXSW and more. They have expanded their live line-up to include Dirk Mathews on bass/ vocals and Brad Blanco on lead guitar. They reside now in Nashville, TN.


For more information:


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.