Blacklist Royals release new song ‘Die Young With Me’

By on May 7, 2014

Blacklist Royals

Nashville’s own, Blacklist Royals, have debuted the title track from their highly anticipated upcoming album, “Die Young With Me'”. The song can be streamed now over on USA Today here:  


The album was produced by Ted Hutt (Chuck Ragan, Lucero, The Gaslight Anthem) and will be released on June 10th via Krian Music Group / UMG. Composed of twin brothers, Nat and Rob Rufus, the upcoming album is a personal account of a childhood spent battling cancer, the album unfolds as a fluid thing, exploring new directions both sonically and lyrically with candor and heart like never before.


The new full-length includes the recently released “Hearts On Fire” and can be streamed with Vice’s music blog Noisey here:


Rob and Nat, who shared the responsibility of writing the lyrics, recount their experiences and those of the people around them, capturing the anxiety and tragedy and overwhelming hope involved with any life struggle. All of the musicians’ inspirations converge in the songs: “Out In The Dark” has a surging Americana tone while the rollicking “Hearts On Fire” is a blood-pumping, dirt-rubbed rocker and “Missing Something” embraces an introspective folk sound. On the other end of the spectrum, “26 and Gone” draws back the instrumentation to sparse indie rock ambience, allowing the song’s mournful lyrics to stand out. Ultimately, the connection between Rob and Nat underscores the music itself.


“It was supposed to sound like two brothers in a room playing music together,” Nat says. “That’s what the whole record is about – two brothers who stand side by side and don’t give up. I think that’s something anyone can relate to regardless of his or her specific struggle. The record is about this really heavy idea. It’s like opening a diary for everyone to read.”



“Die Young With Me” – Track Listing

1. Righteous Child

2. Missing Something

3. The Open Door

4. Out In The Dark

5. Twenty Six And Gone

6. The Common Things

7. Skeleton Crew

8. Die Young With Me

9. Hearts On Fire

10. Last Days Of The Suicide Kid

11. Take It / Leave It


Nat and Rob Rufus grew up in a small town of West Virginia and have been in a band together since the age of 13. When the twins turned 17, Rob was diagnosed with a rare (stage 4) cancer and for the next 3 years lived in hospitals where he received treatment and underwent many surgeries. Now, overcoming the odds, Blacklist Royals have spent the last three years on the road supporting their debut full length Semper Liberi touring the US, UK, Canada and Europe non-stop. They have performed with acts such as NOFX, Face To Face and Less Than Jake and have been apart of The Fest, Warped Tour, Groezrock, SXSW and more. They have expanded their live line-up to include Dirk Mathews on bass/ vocals and Brad Blanco on lead guitar. They reside now in Nashville, TN.


For more information:


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.