Brazil’s Star Mallu Announces US Debut Album Highly Sensitive through Sony Music Brazil via RED Distribution

By on August 20, 2013


São Paulo native and singer-songwriter/multi-instrumentalist Mallu will release her debut US album, Highly Sensitive on October 1st through Sony Music Brazil via RED Distribution. The free-spirited artist brings a captivating exuberance to her indie-folk style that resonates on the first US single, “Angelina, Angelina.”

STREAM/DOWNLOAD MP3 “Angelina, Angelina”  

The 15-track album features lyrical stories interwoven with guitar, harmonica, banjo, Dobro and the ukulele colored with samba and boss nova sounds mixed with a folk/country twang. Recorded with a harmonious mix of English and Portuguese under the guidance of world-class producers Mario Caldato, Jr. (Beastie Boys, Jack Johnson, Beck) and Marcelo Camelo (front-man, Los Hermanos), music lovers of all nationalities will be able to embrace Mallu’s exuberant musicality.

Mallu began writing and composing music at the young age of 12, and her musical inspiration growing up included the Beatles and Bob Dylan. Mallu’s career blossomed at the age of 15 when she recorded four tracks in the studio that lead to an impressive buzz in her home country as well as online. 


To support the U.S. release of Highly Sensitive, there will be a special performance at The Standard East Village in New York City on October 28 with a major market tour to follow. Full tour dates to be announced soon.

Highly Sensitive Track listing:

1 You Know You’ve Got   

2 My home is My Man   

3 Highly Sensitive   

4 Lonely   

5 Velha e Louca   

6 Angelina, Angelina   

7 Youhuhu   

8 Cena   

9 Make it Easy   

10 Sambinha Bom   

11 In the Morning   

12 You Ain’t Gonna Loose Me


iTunes version includes three bonus tracks: 

13 Tchubaruba  

14 Soul Mate  

15 Baby, I’m sure   




Named one of the best artists of the year by Rolling Stone Brazil, Mallu has had her music featured in national Motorola and Windows 8 ad campaigns in Brazil. Recent collaborations include Brazilian musical institution Tom Zé, on whose 2012 album Mallu participated. She toured throughout Brazil in 2012 and also performed in New York at MoMA (Museum of Modern Art) to an adoring crowd. 


“Seems so refreshing to find a young female performer who leads with class and talent” -The Boston Phoenix


“[Third album, Pitanga] ranges from safe plays with popular music alongside brooklyn-esque mellow indie folk, placing her in a parallel universe between the hall of new generation of Brazilian female performers and alt-rock youngsters. Overall, a solid record by a – finally – solid artist” –

Keep up with Mallu:

Facebook/mallumagalhaes | Twitter@malluautoral | YouTube/MalluMagalhaesVEVO 


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.