British super group Asia set to release new album on Frontiers Records

By on March 3, 2014


Asia, the legendary British band, moves into the next phase of their extraordinary career with ‘Gravitas’, a brave new album that explores different musical landscapes while embracing their familiar musical past. Produced and written by band members John Wetton and Geoff Downes, ‘Gravitas’ is deeply introspective within a clearly accessible sound. The album also introduces the world to Asia’s new guitarist, Sam Coulson, who came at the recommendation of MrBig’s Paul Gilbert.

Asia’s debut album exploded onto the music scene in April 1982, and was the best selling album in the world of that year. Featuring Geoff Downes on keyboards, Steve Howe on guitar, Carl Palmer on drums, and John Wetton on lead vocal and bass, Asia was the logical successor to their collective bands of the 70s – Yes, ELP, King Crimson, UK, and The Buggles. The original Asia reformed in 2006 for the first time in 23 years.

“Pure, unadulterated and stereotypical Asia, with raw energy, enthusiasm and free from impurities,” says John Wetton. “It conveys the spectrum of emotion and colour from real life agonies to ecstatic fantasy of escapism. Great songs, fabulous performance. ‘Gravitas’ is Asia by Asia. At last.”

‘Gravitas’ is released in March on Frontiers Records. Pre-order from iTunes.



Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.