Canadian emo/hardcore band Fossil release debut full length album

By on August 3, 2015

Since forming in 2013, Canada’s emotional hardcore outfit Fossil has been busy rising their stock in the scene through two EPs and authentic, vivacious, and emotional live performances during their many tours that have included runs with Gatherers (Equal Vision Records) and Until We Are Ghosts (InVogue Records). This already impressive résumé was just recently added onto by the release of the band’s ten track debut LP, entitled Trapped In A Place You Don’t Want To Leave, that was released on Bandcamp in various formats. Founding member and vocalist guitarist went into the studio with no material in hand and spent an entire month writing and tracking the album at Timber Studios with Adam Cichocki before it was mixed by Mike Watts (The Chariot, As Cities Burn, The Deer Hunter). The album finished its journey with  Brad Boatright (Code Orange, Defeater, Converge), who handled the mastering of the tracks.
RIYL: Rescuer, Touché Amoré, State Faults
Andrew had this to say on the band’s debut LP, “Listeners should expect a brutally honest and emotional record both instrumentally and lyrically. Something that we hope people will take from this album is to learn to accept the changes in life, whether they’re positive or negative. We’ve done a lot of growing up as musicians and as human beings since we first started, and it was nothing but inevitable changes that got us to where we were in life when we wrote that record.” Not ones to rest on their laurels, Fossil is quickly getting back out on the road and in the studio as Andrew explains, “We’ve got some U.S. dates booked throughout the month of August, as well as a run in September within the U.S. again with the Gatherers. As far as our home country is concerned, we are currently securing dates for an eastern Canadian tour throughout October/November. In late September we will be recording 2 new songs for a 7″ EP release at the beginning of 2016.”

  1. Old Fingers
    2. Cataract
    3. Rude
    4. Beige
    5. Dead Weight
    6. House Call
    7. Chill
    8. Plantain
    9. Retracted Statement
    10. Trapped In A Place That You Don’t Want To Leave

About Fossil:

Formed in November of 2013, the Canadian based emotional hardcore outfit Fossil is one of the city’s foremost emerging talents. A unique blend of high-energy punk rock coupled with aesthetics borrowed from ambient and rock music, their live performances are as vivacious as they are emotional and authentic. Taking influence from such a wide variety of genres, Fossil creates lush musical textures accompanied by driving guitars, soaring vocals and energetic drums.

The group stands today as a cohesive and well-rehearsed unit that comes from varying musical backgrounds. Their unified vision for Fossil has manifested in an already significant number of local performances across Canada and the United States, including a 2014 summer tour with Gatherers (Equal Vision Records) and Until We Are Ghosts (InVogue Records). Fossil has quickly carved themselves a place in Ontario’s music community and they do not plan to stop anytime soon. The band has three releases under their belt, including their recently released full-length record Trapped In A Place That You Don’t Want To Leave.


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.