CEREMONIAL OATH to digitally release deluxe re-issue of ‘The Book Of Truth’ on April 16th

By on April 10, 2013


CEREMONIAL OATH – Sweden’s pioneers of twisted melodic death metal – will release their legendary debut album, The Book Of Truth, as a digital download in North America on April 16th via Century Media Records. Besides the album tracks found on The Book Of Truth, this download will also include all tracks from the super rare demos, Wake The Dead and Black Sermon (on which CEREMONIAL OATH was still performing under the band’s previous moniker DESECRATOR), as well as the two tracks from the legendary Lost Name Of God 7″ (originally released on Corpse Grinder Records in 1992).


The Book Of Truth doesn’t follow the usual melodic approach that many bands from the Gothenburg scene established during the heyday of the scene from 1994-1999. Being neither pure Gothenburg melodic death metal nor typical old school Swedish death metal in the Stockholm vein, but more a fine mélange of both worlds, spiced-up with some technical finesse a la MORBID ANGEL and NOCTURNUS, The Book Of Truth has justly become a classic death metal album. To this day, the sound of CEREMONIAL OATH has remained surprisingly fresh and unique.


The Book Of Truth deluxe re-issue track-listing:

The Album

Prologue: Sworn To Avenge

Chapter I: The Invocator

Chapter II: For I Have Sinned / The Praise

Chapter III: Enthroned

Chapter IV: Only Evil Prevails

Chapter V: Thunderworld (Welcome To Forever)

Chapter VI: Lords Of Twilight

Chapter VII: Ceremonial Oath

Chapter VIII: The Lost Name Of God

Chapter IX: The Book Of Truth

Chapter X: Hellbound (instrumental)

The Demos (Bonus Tracks)

Intro: The Hour Between Darkness And Dawn

Remains Of Death

Force Of Habit

A Nocturnal Predator

Into The Abyss Of Hell

The Invocator


The Lost Name Of God

For I Have Sinned / The Praise


The Demos (Bonus Tracks) info

Tracks 1 – 4 taken from the Wake The Dead demo (1990, performing as DESECRATOR)

Tracks 5 – 7 taken from the Black Sermon demo (1990, performing as DESECRATOR)

Tracks 8 & 9 taken from the Lost Name Of God 7″ (1992)







Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.