Childhood release new music video for ‘As I Am’; debut album out now

By on August 13, 2014


Photo credit: Jenna Foxton

Coinciding with today’s release of their hotly anticipated debut album ‘Lacuna’ on House Anxiety / Marathon Artists, Childhood have released a video for their new single ‘As I Am’. 


The video stars and was shot by band member Ben Romans-Hopcraft in West Norwood Park, South London with the idea of creating an absurd interpretation of conceptual art.


An anthemic and bittersweet slice of summer ‘As I Am’, was produced by Rodaidh McDonald (The XX, Savages, King Krule) and Dan Carey (Bat For Lashes, TOY). With The Guardian describing Childhood as ‘undeniably exciting and relevant’ and Pitchfork as ‘an exciting young British rock band delivering their spin on luminous guitar pop‘, ‘Lacuna‘ is looking set to be one of this year’s breakthrough albums.


“Lacuna” Tracklisting /

01. Blue Velvet

02. You Could Be Different

03. As I Am

04. Right Beneath Me

05. Falls Away

06. Sweeter Preacher

07. Tides

08. Solemn Skies

09. Chiliad

10. Pay For Cool

11. When You Rise

Biography / 

Childhood formed at Nottingham University, originally as a two-piece making bedroom demos. The founders Ben Romans-Hopcraft (vocals/guitar) and Leo Dobsen (guitar) initially came together over a shared love for psychedelic and guitar music, later bringing in Daniel Salamons on bass and Jonny Williams on drums.

 Links /

Childhood on Facebook

Childhood on Twitter

Childhood on Soundcloud


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.