Christopher Owens Announces Debut Solo Album – “Lysandre” and Streams Two New Tracks

By on October 28, 2012

The highly anticipated solo debut from singer, songwriter and former Girls frontman Christopher Owens has been confirmed for a January 14th2013 release. Lysandre will be released on Turnstile.

“Lysandre’s Theme” / “Here We Go” HERE

“Here We Go” HERE

Named for a girl he met whilst in France for a festival performance, Lysandre –  written, recorded and sequenced as a complete narrative – was inspired by the events of Girls’ first ever tour in the summer of 2008. Owens describes the record as: “A coming of age story, a road trip story, a love story.”
The San Francisco-based musician goes on to explain, “Lysandre could easily be mistaken as an album about a love affair. But it’s much more than that.” Written almost entirely in one creative outpouring and recorded with former Girls producer Doug Boehm, Lysandre follows Owens from San Francisco – where he’s filled with excitement after writing his band’s Album – to New York City and on to the French Riviera – where he falls in love with the record’s namesake – before a melancholy return home and a beautifully articulated epilogue. Perfectly framed by intricate instrumentation, gorgeous backing vocals and pristine production, Owens’ enthralling, personal songwriting takes center stage and delivers a heartbreaking rumination on love, longing, friendship, adventure and the thrill of finding an audience for your art.
LISTEN: The first two tracks from the album“Lysandre’s Theme” & “Here We Go” – are available to stream on Christopher Owens Online
Since surprising fans with the announcement of his departure from Girls in July 2012 via Twitter (@chri55ybaby), the critically lauded songwriter has kept his future musical plans a closely held secret. It was announced in September that he was to feature in the international print campaign for Saint Laurent Paris’ Spring/Summer line, shot by returning creative director Hedi Slimane. While speculation of Owens’ future recording output has been building, no details of his solo album have surfaced until now.
The artwork for Lysandre was shot by award-winning American photographer Ryan McGinley.
Lysandre tracklist in full:
1. Lysandre’s Theme
2. Here We Go
3. New York City
4. A Broken Heart
5. Here We Go Again
6. Riviera Rock
7. Love Is In The Ear Of The Listener
8. Lysandre
9. Everywhere You Knew
10. Closing Theme
11. Part Of Me (Lysandre’s Epilogue)
Lysandre was recorded at Hobby Shop Studios, LA. Written entirely by Christopher Owens

Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.