Coffee Projects Streams Farewell Album, Leftovers, Out Now

By on October 25, 2012

Gainesville, Fla.-based acoustic/folk duo Coffee Project is streaming its farewell album, Leftovers, in its entirety. The album is out today via Paper + Plastick Records and can be listened to in full via the label’s SoundCloud page. The album can now be ordered in digital and CD formats from the P+P webstore.

Leftoversconsists of the previously released Concrete Boots digital EP, with six new songs for a total of an 11-track album. The record is a continuation of the style that vocalist/guitarist Jake Crown and trombonist/vocalist Buddy Schaub built up on Coffee Project’s earlier releases. A statement from Crown about Coffee Project’s farewell release can be read below.

The band will play its final show this weekend at The Fest 11 in Gainesville. Their set is at 3:20 p.m. on Sunday, October 28 at The Atlantic.

“Just like all of our previous records, Leftovers was recorded at Buddy’s home studio. Buddy is the engineer, we are the producers, and Stephen Egerton (yes, the guitarist from my favorite punk band) mastered the songs. With no pressure of deadlines, we had a rad time recording these songs.  We would just hook up after I got off of work, or when Buddy was home from Less Than Jake tours.  We brought in the wonderful Kim Helm (Whiskey & Co.) to sing on some songs.  She is a huge part of Coffee Project.  The Greenland Is Melting guys came in and played on a song.  Jon Gaunt played the fiddle on a tune.  Lindsey Mills (local Gainesville amazing folk singer) sang on a song as well.  We have been lucky enough to have people come and give their time to play on our records.  All rad people.

As far as Coffee Project coming to an end, that’s a tough one to swallow.   Everything that Coffee Project did just sort of “happened” organically.  I never thought we would have made two full-lengths and a few EPs.  They all just “happened.”  I was thinking about this the other day, as far as the fact that I have put my life out there as much as I have.  Its bizarre.  At times it weirds me out, but I’m glad we did everything we did.  Our show at this years FEST in Gainesville is going to be the last Coffee Project show.  I think its good to have some closure on things.  On the same token, if down the road we have an opportunity to play again, I’d love to.”

Coffee Project – Leftovers
October 23, 2012
Paper + Plastick Records

1. Clear Eyes, Full Hearts, Can’t Lose
2. Day, Night and Everything In Between
3. Shenendoah Valley
4. Concrete Boots
5. Exit Stage Left
6. Laid Up
7. Little Boxes
8. 11:15
9. Why Are We Going Backwards?
10. Willow Tree
11. Smile

More about Coffee Project:

Coffee Project was formed in 2007 after Jake Crown and Buddy Schaub began writing and recording songs together. In January of 2009 they released an 8-song album, Easy Does It, and followed it up with a 2-song EP, Pickle, in June. The band then released their first full-length record Moving On in 2010. Going back to smaller releases, a 5-song EP called Concrete Boots came out in September of 2011. As with all their previous albums, Paper + Plastick Records will be releasing Coffee Project’s final recordLeftovers. The 11-track album is a compilation of the Concrete Boots EP and six brand-new songs. The band will play its final show in Gainesville, Fla., at The Fest 11.


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.