Cognitive to release heavy and technical death metal self-titled album Aug.5

By on May 20, 2014


The new Cognitive self-titled album is set to street nationally on August 5, 2014. The record is being promoted jointly by Fresh2Deaf, Ladies of Metal, and Pathologically Explicit Recordings (Spain). The band also enjoys a sponsorship courtesy of COLDCOCK Whiskey.

Cognitive was founded in 2011 — as rhythm guitarist Rob Wharton explains — “with the sole intent to create heavy and intensely technical music, while maintaining an edge of creativity that separates us from the over produced sea of sub genres out there today.” The band hails from South Jersey, and deftly combine technical agility, guitar solos, grooves, and abstract ideas in their song writing. They continually push themselves to think beyond the norm, while honing an undeniably brutal sound.

Early response to the album has been overwhelmingly positive. With enthusiastic reviews pouring in from all over the U.S. and blogosphere. Stereokiller wrote “You could bang your head throughout and then suddenly be in awe of a technical passage or beautiful solo and the next minute wanting to get ignorant in the pit, drag your knuckles and punch someone in their face.” Teeth of the Divine adds “…the most powerful, well-done and memorable tech-death metal album released in the last several years.” And Nefarious Realm sums it up stating “Cognitive is a beast that everyone should be watching for.”

Cognitive Tour Itinerary (all dates may be subject to change):
Saturday, May 31st at Trick Shots in Clifton Park, NY
Thursday, June 5th at The Smiling Moose in Pittsburgh, PA
Friday, June 6th at The Foundry Concert Club in Lakewood, OH
Saturday, June 7th at Ye Olde Town Inn in Mount Prospect, IL
Saturday, July 26th at New York Deathfest at St. Vitus Bar in Brooklyn, NY
Sunday, July 27th at New York Deathfest at St. Vitus Bar in Brooklyn, NY

Cognitive, was recorded in the spring of 2014 at Full Force Studios (Long Island, NY). Album was mixed and engineered by Joe Cincotta (Suffocation, Internal Bleeding, Dehumanized) and produced by Cognitive member Rob Wharton. The ten tracks on the album are: 1. “Cut The Fuck Up,” 2. “The Aftermath,” 3. “Blood Hungry,” 4. “World’s Beneath,” 5. “Regurgitated Existence,” 6. “Ascension,” 7. “Willingness Of The Weak,” 8. “Imbuing Of Wrath,” 9. “Fire From The Sky,” 10. “Affliction Humanity.” Music is performed by Jorel Hart on vocals, Rob Wharton on rhythm guitar, Jake Iannaco on lead guitar, Mike Castro on drums, and Arthur Sikora on bass.

Cognitive acknowledges influences on their sound which include artists like Cephalic Carnage, Cryptopsy, Ion Dissonance, Meshuggah, Decapitated, Abominable Putridity, Candiria, and The Red Chord. Cognitive has shared the stage with artists such as Cattle Deception, Suffocation, Gorod, Wormed, Infernal Revulsion, Devourment, Broken Hope, Wretched, and Misery Index. Album art by Tony Koehl (Black Dahlia Murder, Malignancy, Waking Cadaver).

Visit the band online at, on or on Twitter @cognitive_NJ.


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.