Danish Duo Reptile Youth Gets Reconstructed in ‘Be My Yoko Ono’ Video

By on December 14, 2012

Danish electro-punk duo Reptile Youth has premiered a new video for ‘Be My Yoko Ono’ with Paper Magazine. The single is the fourth off their self-titled debut album, produced by Dave M. Allen (The Cure, Sisters of Mercy) and Marc Ralph (Hot Chip), and out now on hfn music (Kasper Bjørke). In the video vocalist Mads Damsgaard Kristiansen and bassist Esben Valløe are manipulated as puppets of technology. Director Lucy McRae uses several filming techniques and 37 students from Hyper Island to create a complex treatment. “This song is a product of a 15 page long poem written together with a Chinese girl in Shanghai three years ago,” says Mads Damsgaard Kristiansen. “None of my lyrics has entered this world in a more charming way than this.”

Reptile Youth was founded in 2009, and soon after its formation the band toured extensively to rapturous acclaim. In 2010, they completed the longest tour of China ever for a Danish act, and in 2011 the band performed at Iceland Airwaves, Reeperbahn Festival, Unit Tokyo, and Roskilde festivals as the only band without an actual release. The group has been revered for its raucous, high energy live set, and was named one of SPIN’s ‘25 Must-See Acts of CMJ‘ before making its US live debut in October. Reptile Youth will continue to tour worldwide and return to the states for SXSW ’13.

Reptile Youth Tracklisting   

01. Black Swan Born White

02. Morning Sun

03. Dead End

04. Speeddance

05. By MyYoko Ono

06. A Flash In The Forest

07. Shooting Up Sunshine

08. It’s Easy To Lose Yourself

09. Heart Blood Beat

10. Fear  


For more info, please visit:  




Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.