By on January 22, 2012

Barnes Celebrates Recent Songwriting Grammy® Nomination for Best Country Song “God Gave Me You” (Recorded by Blake Shelton)

Dave Barnes will release his new studio album,Stories To Tell, on March 13, 2012. The 11 track album of original material was produced by John Fields (Lifehouse, Switchfoot, Goo Goo Dolls, Jonas Brothers, P!nk). Dave Barnes will tour in 2012 in support of his new release (tour dates to soon follow). Barnes recently received his first Grammy® nomination for Best Country Song for “God Gave Me You,” as performed by Blake Shelton from Shelton’s 2011 album Red River Blue. Barnes’ and Shelton’s versions of the song have sold over one million singles to date.
Stories To Tell is Barnes’ fourth studio album for Razor & Tie and a first for Barnes on many levels. The album was recorded in Los Angeles with producer John Fields, marking the first time Barnes has recorded outside of his home town Nashville, TN. Leaving everything familiar behind with his writing and recording processes forced Dave to venture outside of his creative comfort zone. Barnes’ explains, “I’ve done all the other records in Nashville but for this one I really wanted to do something different, I wanted to get out of town and do something that wouldn’t sound quite as much like the stuff I’ve done before.”
Stories To Tell also presents a stylistic departure from his previous releases. Adding more programming and synth sounds than previous Barnes’ albums, Stories To Tell, did not suffer from rules and restrictions when it comes to instrumentation. The electronic flourishes on this album add dynamics that are not typical when it comes to most singer-songwriters. Using orchestral accents, syncopated percussion alongside his soulful, impassioned vocals, the album introduces Barnes’ fans to eleven finely tuned and honestly crafted songs with a strong pop sound.
Dave describes the music, “It’s definitely poppy but everything is accounted for. There are no rogue parts or instrumentation, everything is really fleshed out and that’s what I was going for thankfully. Working with John, I knew he does kind of what I wanted to do which is make a little more of a pop record and get out of the self-imposed box I’ve been in for a while.”
The underlying theme of the new album is the Stories To Tell, most plucked from Barnes’ personal life and experiences. He wrote much of the album after discovering that he and his wife were going to have their first baby this year. Two songs directly inspired by this news are the ballads “Mine to Love” and “One of Us.” Another major theme of this album is enjoying the moment because life has unexpected twists. The songs “White Flag” and “Heaven Help Me” reflect this sentiment.
An artist that has never adhered to a specific genre, Barnes’ music is generally inspired by an array of music influences ranging from rock, pop and country to blues, soul and R&B. “Stories To Tell, is another bookmark. For me, that’s why I love making records; not because I was going for a specific sound but I was trying to encompass everything that I was listening to and enjoying at that time in my life. It is like a fun kind of musical history, like a photo album,” add Barnes.
Nashville-based Dave Barnes’ last album, the 2010 release What We Want, What We Get, features the Grammy nominated song “God Gave Me You.” This album debuted at #59 on the Billboard top 200 album chart, #17 on the Billboard Rock Chart and #15 on the digital albums chart. Barnes has sold over 155,000 albums to date and over 510,000 individual song downloads. Dave has toured with notable acts including John Mayer, Taylor Swift, Lady Antebellum, Bonnie Raitt, and One Republic as well as festivals such as Bonnaroo. His music has been featured in television shows such as CW’s “Life Unexpected,” Disney’s “Suite Life On Deck,” ABC’s “Brothers And Sisters” and WB’s “Summerland,” as well as the films Employee Of The Month and My Super Ex-Girlfriend. Dave Barnes songs have been covered by a bevy of other artists including, country singers Blake Shelton and Billy Currington as well as Marc Broussard, Kelly Clarkson, Bethany Dillon, to name a few. Barnes has been recognized by the industry as a rising songwriter. Billboard Magazine touted “Many of the best pop songwriters come out of Nashville, and Dave Barnes is one such singer/scribe now building momentum.” Dave Barnes is signed to leading independent label Razor & Tie and is administered by Razor & Tie Music Publishing.
Stories To Tell Track List:
1. White Flag
2. How Long
3. Mine To Love
4. Heaven Help Me
5. Love Will Be Enough For Us
6. Seventeen
7. Missing You
8. Find Your Way Home
9. Stories To Tell
10. Warm Heart In A Cold World
11. One Of Us



Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.