Dikembe – New Song Premier From Broad Shoulders LP On Tiny Engines

By on May 30, 2012

DIKEMBE– Debut Full-Length Completed / New Song Premier

Broad Shoulders: out this Summer from Tiny Engines on 12″ Vinyl + Digital formats
Alternative Press Premier: Exclusive song stream for “We Could Become River Rats
• Artwork / Track Listing revealed, live videos, fest confirmations + more

Tiny Engines(Tigers Jaw, Restorations, CSTVT, Everyone Everywhere) is stoked to announce the completion and upcoming release of Broad Shoulders, the long-awaited, occasionally delayed debut full-length from Gainesville, FL’s Dikembe.
Lovingly referred to as the “Chinese Democracy of Emo,” the ten-song album is tentatively scheduled for a mid-Summer release on 12″ vinyl and digital formats, with pre-orders launching in June. Broad Shoulders is the follow up to Dikembe’s 2011 digital EP, Chicago Bowls, which is currently available for free download.
To celebrate today’s announcement, Tiny Engines and Dikembe have teamed up with Alternative Press for an exclusive debut of the song “We Could Become River Rats.” To stream the first single from Broad Shoulders, go here

It was surprising to virtually no one – save for Dikembe itself – that Chicago Bowls, in all its anthemic, adrenalized indie-cum-emo / punk greatness, took the underground by storm last year. The ironic, pun-laden ode to weed and arguably (and less ironically) the greatest championship squad in NBA history was a breath of fresh air … playful, charismatic and downright infectious without emitting an ounce of pretension. Four revelatory cuts of undeniable, high energy DIY rock ‘n’ roll, Chicago Bowls cajoled the listener to laugh along with song titles such as “Scottie Spliffen” and “Michael Jordank.” There was no doubt that Dikembe’s playful nature was an integral part of its singular sound, and perhaps one of the biggest reasons why we couldn’t wait to hear what the outfit conjured up next.
Accordingly, it would have been easy for Dikembe to rush its debut full-length, but the band wisely spent the appropriate amount of time recording and mixing the ten amazing songs that would eventually make up highly anticipated Broad Shoulders. And from the first long-awaited note, it’s clear that there’s something truly unique manifesting itself Dikembe’s signature sound – powerhouse rhythms, the acrobatic back-and-forth between the guitars and front man Steven Gray’s confident-yet-completely raw and exposed delivery – is all still present, and it’s imparted with even more vigor and conviction than ever before. However, album highlights such as “I Watch A Lot Of Jackie Chan Movies” and “Not Today, Angel” are thoughtful, nuanced and occasionally even haunting. They help to paint a picture of an evolving band and a record that is not only imaginative and memorable, but one that is fully realized and worthy of all the hype.


01. Nothing. Stuff.
02. Apology Not Fucking Accepted
03. I Watch A Lot Of Jackie Chan Movies
04. We Could Become River Rats
05. I Just Don’t Understand What All These Kids Dig About Him
06. Not Today, Angel
07. Librarians Kill For That Kind Of Quiet
08. That’s How What Works
09. I’m Gonna Deck Your Halls, Bub!
10. Sorry I Can’t Stick Around

In related news, Dikembe has been confirmed for this year’s FEST 11 in Gainesville and more recently, the I Got Brains Fest in Blacksburg, VA in August. Speaking of live performances, check out live renditions of new songs from Broad Shoulders hereand here. Of course, we’ll be premiering more exclusive tracks in the next couple months as well. Be sure to follow Tiny Engines’ Tumblr, Facebook and Twitter pages for more breaking news and other exciting announcements.


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.