By on April 28, 2013


Photo Credit: Joshua Black Wilkins

Dine Alone Records is proud to announce that they will be the Canadian distributor for Nashville-based Serpents & Snakes, the boutique imprint from Grammy Award-winning rock band Kings of Leon. The first Canadian digital release from Serpents & Snakes/Dine Alone Records is Dear Bo Jackson, the eagerly anticipated label debut album from soulful, country-rockers The Weeks. The album will be digitally released on April 30, with a physical release to follow later in the year. Dear Bo Jackson is currently streaming on Rolling Stone. To check it out visit: http://rol.st/13UYcNe


Recorded with Grammy Award-nominated producer/engineer Paul Moak, Dear Bo Jackson sees The Weeks enriching their already well-seasoned sonic stew with the classic flavors of soul, R&B, funk, and heavy boogie to create their own unique take on contemporary Southern rock. Big brass, lush strings, and twangy pedal steel have been fused into the band’s trademark sludge pop sound, with Sam Williams’ greasy guitars and the highly charged engine room of bassist Damien Bone and drummer Cain Barnes now officially joined by master keyboardist Alex Admiral Collier. Throughout the album, songs like “Brother In The Night” and the exuberant title track see Cyle Barnes’ rending his throat raw as he tells dramatic and truthful tales of modern Southern lives, full of hope despite often punishing circumstances. Dear Bo Jackson shows The Weeks to be not unlike the legendary athlete of the album’s title: indisputable all-stars, capable of just about anything.


Born and raised in Jackson, Mississippi, The Weeks instantly came to define the sound of Southern Rock in the 21st Century – their grunge-powered, high-octane anthems rich with a bottomless Delta soul far deeper than the band’s teenage years would suggest. Like any great rock ‘n’ roll outfit worth its salt, the band played as often as humanly possible, with countless club dates across the Southeast and tours alongside such like-minded acts as Local H, North Mississippi All-Stars, and the one and only Meat Puppets. Their extraordinary energy and outsized performances earned them an ever more fervent fan following, as did a series of well-received independently issued releases.  


The Weeks have just wrapped the first leg of their “Thick As Thieves Tour,” a midwinter trek that saw the band bringing the heat to frigid cities like Louisville, Lexington, Columbus, Philadelphia, Brooklyn, Hoboken, New York, Richmond, Norfolk, and Charlotte. Next month, The Weeks will join Kings of Leon for a slew of arena shows in the U.S, U.K and Germany. For full tour details, visit: http://theweeksmusic.tumblr.com/tour Canadian fans will be happy to know that The Weeks have just announced that they will be playing a show in Toronto at The Horseshoe Tavern on August 1st. Stay tuned for more Canadian dates.


Upcoming Canadian Tour Dates

08.01 Toronto, ON – The Horseshoe


Track listing

Dear Bo Jackson – The Weeks
01. Dear Bo Jackson

02. Brother In The Night  AUDIO | VIDEO

03. King Sized Death Bed

04. Ain’t My Stop

05. Bad Enough

06. White Ash

07. Gobi Blues

08. Thief In My Mouth

09. Harlot’s Bluff

10. Chickahominy

11. Wo Is I




Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.