By on April 20, 2013


(Photo credit:  Hayley Young)

Dine Alone Records is proud to announce the addition of Seattle sextet Hey Marseilles [pronounced: hay mar-say] to their roster. The album titled Lines We Trace will be released digitally via Dine Alone in Canada on April 23.


Lines We Trace features 12 songs overflowing with ornate orchestration, memorable melodies and honest lyricism, and is the follow up to critically acclaimed To Travels & Trunks lauded by the likes of Paste, NME, Seattle Weekly, Popmatters, and Under The Radar.


Featuring Matt Bishop (vox/guitar), Philip Kobernik (keys/accordion), Nick Ward (guitar) Colin Richey (drums) and brothers Jacob Anderson (viola) and Sam Anderson (cello), Hey Marseilles produce a lush wall of orchestral sound using cello, viola, trumpet, accordion, clarinets, piano, guitar and drums.  Together they create music that is intimate, poignant, and introspective, while simultaneously high-spirited, stimulating and addictive. 


Lines We Trace was recorded and produced by the band and cellist Anderson in the group’s Seattle home and mixed by Tucker Martine and Martin Feveyear. In order to capture some of the album’s picturesque sounds, Anderson tracked instruments in various alternative recording spaces:  a tunnel in Golden Gardens Park, the living room of an historic mansion, and a show room in the old Columbia City Theater, amongst others.  The album also includes two instrumentals that showcase the unique orchestral chamber pop (or “folkestra” as the band likes to say) that has become the group’s signature sound.

Regardless of any moniker placed on the group’s style, one thing remains abundantly clear:  Hey Marseilles has a penchant for making records that seems uniquely ‘uncategorizable’ yet exceedingly accessible. From the flutter of the clarinets in the opening track, “Tides” to the pulsating rhythm of “Dead Of Night” or the wait-for-it drums in the single “Heart Beats” and haunting melody of “Bright Stars Burning” Hey Marseilles keeps the listener nodding, waltzing and swaying along for the entire 48 minutes.


Hey Marseilles will perform on July 31 in Toronto during Edgefest.  Additional info and tour dates will be announced as they become available.


07.16 – Vancouver, BC @ The Biltmore 

07.31 – Toronto, ON @ Downsview Park (Edgefest) 


Video Links:  Bright Stars Burning Lyric Video | HM Makes an Album

Track Listing for Lines We Trace:

01. Tides
02. Heart Beats
03. Dead Of Night
04. Elegy
05. Bright Stars Burning
06. Building Glare
07. Madrona
08. Hold Your Head

09. Rainfall
10. Looking Back

11. Cafe Lights
12. Demian




Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.