Eagulls drops “Nerve Endings” w/ Pitchfork, sign to Partisan Records

By on August 21, 2013



Brash and opinionated, short and sharp, Leeds punk five piece Eagulls are the missing link in your record collection between post-punk and slacker rock, and every bit as essential as that description may sound.


Formed two years ago by Mark Goldsworthy and drummer Henry Ruddel, the lineup was completed by Liam Matthews on guitar, Tom Kelly on bass and George Mitchell on vocals, the band caused a splash from the off with their debut single on Not Even Records, the fuzzy, densely sprawling epic “Council Flat Blues.


After slowly but surely building up a cult of ardent admirers via raucous shows and sold out EP releases overseas and at SXSW ’13, Eagulls have now signed to Partisan Records and are finally getting ready to release their debut album in 2014.


The concise, concentrated blast of “Nerve Endings” is the opening salvo in the next exciting chapter of their career, as much a ringing, urgent pop song with jagged hooks and serrated vocals as it is a cavernous, roaring statement of intent.  


“Nerve Endings” will be released as a UK-only 7″.  The vinyl features handwritten artwork and a cover of Killing Joke’s “Requiem.”  








Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.