Emily Wells: gorgeous live video for “Darlin'” via BlackBook + US tour dates

By on June 2, 2013



BlackBook has premiered the stunning new video for the acoustic re-visioning of Emily Wells song, “Darlin.” off her forthcoming album, Mama Acoustic Recordings (out June 11th). “The delicate and lovely track,” says BlackBook, “soars with her ethereal voice and sparse guitar, creating a melancholic moment shown through the black-and-white video work of Ruben Woodin Dechamps and Bat On Ball Creations.” Emily will soon embark on a European tour with Kurt Vile, returning stateside in June for performances on the West Coast, as well as a free show at New York City’s Lincoln Center Out of Doors Festival, celebrating the 40th anniversary of The Kronos Quartet.

Mama Acoustic Recordings is a kind of accidental album, recorded last year while Wells was on self-described “sabbatical” living with friends in Portland, Oregon. Wells began experimenting with her traveling reel-to-reel, recording gentle new versions of  “Mama’s Gonna Give You Love” and “Johnny Cash’s Mama’s House” with just her voice and acoustic guitar (and beloved Fostex Spring Reverb unit). Peeling off her own ornate production, she revealed her songs to herself, exposing new meaning though stark minimalism.

Before long Wells had recorded 10 tracks – including one new song, single “Los Angeles.” The naked renditions of Mama highlights like “Passenger” and “Fire Song” were both striking and subtle, reminiscent of such iconic works of pastoral folk as Karen Dalton’s classic In My Own Time and Iron & Wine’s The Creek Drank The Cradle (like Mama Acoustic Recordings, its hushed tone determined by others sleeping in the next room).

Wells’ unaccompanied efforts were complimented by a series of collaborative undertakings alongside a remarkably varied range of artists. She penned “Becomes The Color” to serve as closing theme to Chan-Wook Park’s acclaimed psychological thriller, Stoker, while her teaming with the film’s score composer, Clint Mansell, “If I Ever Had A Heart,” is featured as a bonus cut on the official soundtrack. As if that weren’t enough, 2013 has also seen the long awaited release of Pillowfight, Wells’ slinky partnership with the one and only Dan the Automator.  


1. Passenger 

2. Darlin’ 

3. Los Angeles 

4. No Good 

5. Johnny Cash’s Mama’s House 

6. Mama’s Gonna Give You Love 

7. Let Your Guard Down 

8. Fire Song 

9. Dirty Sneakers & Underwear  

10. Piece of It


Tour Dates:

6/13 – Los Angeles, CA – The Echo

6/14 – San Francisco, CA – The Chapel

6/15 – Davis, CA – Plainfield Station

6/19 – Seattle, WA – The Crocodile

6/20 – Portland, OR – Doug Fir Lounge

6/21 – Denver, CO – Hi-Dive

7/25 – New York, NY – Lincoln Center Out of Doors (Free)

8/8 – Hart, MI – Michigan Womyn’s Music Festival (Main Stage)   







Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.