Eskimo Recordings presents ‘The Orange Collection’

By on March 20, 2015
The Orange Collection

Belgium’s music scene has few cornerstones. R&S set a first in the 80s, Soulwax came in the 90s and Eskimo emerged in the early 00s, its evolution since more colourful than all of them combined. Taking music into emotion, introducing new names and spotlighting the cream of the current crop, ‘The Orange Collection’ is bright, genial and buoyant.

Stream This Soft Machine ‘On & On’ from The Orange Collection


“The music Eskimo brings forth into the world all maintains a certain feeling, without being beholden to any rigid formula, and the label has approached the divide between electronic and indie music with a reckless abandon that suggests that there is no divide at all.” Thump magazine, November 2014


Familiar Eskimo faces on the collection include Hype Machine’s Ones To Watch Du Tonc, the partnership of Mighty Mouse producer and Matt Van Schie, who feature with their second single for Eskimo, ‘Animals’. Further regulars contributing include Horixon, Trulz & Robin, DC10 resident Mees Dierdorp and NTEIBINT, whose ‘Riptide’ was premiered on Rankin’s Hunger magazine.


Eskimo opens the door to This Soft Machine, the Australian born talent who first appeared as a mix on Nicolas Jaar’s Other People imprint, as well as Berlin-based and Tel Aviv raised Moscoman, nomadic multi-instrumentalist from Trondheim Ary, and a vanguard of new electronic artists who take their influences from wider range of sources including rock, new wave and other more esoteric sources. Optimistic and diverse, ‘The Orange Collection’ is a window into the soul of the Eskimo label, which has stood the test of more than a decade’s worth of output.


o+ Eskimo stands for timelessness and quality. It has been a launching pad for artists such as Chromeo, Headman and Low Motion Disco, as well as it’s ringleaders Aeroplane, Lindstrom & Prins Thomas, who all feature heavily on the back catalogue.


o+o Also new for this collection are Marvin & Guy who also have music penned for John Talabot’s Hivern Discs and Kompakt’s sub-label Speicher; France’s Anoraak, who has remixed Neon Indian and Metronomy and has made quite a name for himself in the synth-pop, italo and indie-dance genres; Majestique, a Dutch production duo with a shared passion for strange chords, running arpeggiators and dusty drum computers; and Oslo space cadet and all round disco viking Tarjei Nygård, familiar for work on Prins Thomas’ Full Pupp imprint that set the fjords on fire. Eskimo Recordings got to know him during the 2014 edition of the NuMusic festival in Norway, dedicated to the advancement of Electronic music and Art. Ary made her first live appearance at last year’s NuMusic festival. Impressive.


o+o+o+ The artwork for The Orange Collection is from photographer is Jacques De Vos It was taken in front of one of the caves in the Ras Mohammed National Park just south of Sharm el-Sheikh.


o+o+o+o+  The Orange Collection is the fourth installment in a new compilation series on Eskimo based around colours, following the lauded Pink, Blue and Green Collections. The acclaimed Ghent based imprint selected 12 brand new songs with exquisite care. An effortless journey encompassing a range of sounds through indie dance, nu disco and electronica, it’s reassuring to find that Eskimo still stands for timeless quality and originality.


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.