Faded Paper Figures “The Matter” Out Today

By on October 24, 2012

One of indie-electronic music’s best-kept secrets, Faded Paper Figures release their third LP “The Matter” today.
“The Matter” sees Faded Paper Figures mature into a fully realized and powerfully intense musical force. Alternately sparse and epic, harmonic and grinding, pensive and playful, “The Matter” takes FPF beyond their electro-pop beginnings with the Los Angeles-based trio delivering gorgeous melodies, complex harmonies, and sincere pop-cultural brilliance.
There are moments in “The Matter” that echo the bandʼs previous albums “Dynamo” and“New Medium” (all the glorious synth-blips, glitched-out riffs, and heartbreaking harmonies are still there), but a new sound has clearly emerged, with breathtaking orchestral scores, thick, powerful guitars, and more energetic, concentrated synths.

Like the previous two albums, the lyrics glide with effortless sophistication through references both ironic and obscure. But there are passages here more intense, immediate, and playful. One moment“The Matter” conjures up images of traffic lights and factories, the next, soaring questions on the vast distances between galaxies–and always the intimate, vivid possibilities of love and pain.

“Holy Smoke” Official Video

01. San Narciso
02. Piledrive
03. Information Runs On
04. Relatively
05. Better
06. My Magellan
07. First Son
08. Holy Smoke
09. Pointing at the Moon
10. Avida Dollars
11. So Far Out
12. Questions
13. Pantechne Driver

Faded Paper Figures is R. John Williams (vocals, guitar), Kael Alden (synths, guitars, bass, drums, machines, trumpet, violin) and Heather Alden (additional vocals, synths, piano). 


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.