Flashlights release ‘Bummer Summer’ Jun.24 on Hard Rock Records; stream single

By on June 1, 2014


Flashlights are excited to announce the release of their new album, Bummer Summer, out June 24 on Hard Rock Records. Earlier this spring, Pure Volume premiered the lead track from the upcoming album, “Failure”. Pure Volume said, “Taking inspiration from ’90s indie heroes Sebadoh, Archers of Loaf and Superchunk, Flashlights’ riveting guitar pop continues to evolve in a big way on their upcoming full-length album.” Flashlights’ Terry Caudill told Pure Volume, “We’ve been waiting to release something new for so long! This track is about when your expectations fail you and it makes you sad. The ending is EPIC.” “Failure” is also available to stream and share via  SoundCloud.

Flashlights also recorded the track for Balcony TV in Los Angeles. The sessions is streaming now at YouTube. Look for Flashlights summer tour dates to be announced in the coming weeks.


Who exactly are Flashlights? They tour in a van and sleep on couches. They have a strange affinity for cats and Pokemon. They’re called Flashlights and they are a rather spectacular band from the decidedly unspectacular Brevard County, Florida. What began as a solo acoustic project for 24-year-old singer/guitarist Terry Caudill in 2007 has added various members from the local punk scene before settling on their current lineup of Tony Oriza on guitar, Will Powell on bass and Melissa Hopkins on drums.

They made a pretty good record in 2011 called I’m Not Alone and now they’ve just finished a new one. It’s called Bummer Summer and it’s even better. Produced by Scott Hutchison and Andy Monaghan of Frightened Rabbit, it’s full of songs about dead end jobs and lousy living conditions, heartbreaks and hangovers. And, of course, there are also songs about cats.

Creaky and hissy, you would be forgiven for confusing it with early Archers of Loaf, Superchunk or Built to Spill. Caudill’s voice has been favorably compared to the likes of Lou Barlow and Jeff Mangum. Bummer Summer lives up to its name but it also manages to find hilarity in humility and beauty in the bleak.

As far as expectations for the band and for this album, Caudill sums it up as such: “I want the listener to feel like they’re eating candy. Instead, they’re eating old, used parts from a machine that separates colored clothes from white clothes. I want the success that comes with ‘Chinese take-out’ being taken seriously on our rider. And most of all, I want people knocking on my door asking me if this is where Shaft lives.”


1. Failure

2. Don’t Take Me Seriously

3. All Cats Are Beautiful

4. Dirty Talk

5. Best Friends

6. Robert Caruso

7. Islands

8. April 24th

9. Bummer Summer

10. Blue Dream

For more info, please visit:





Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.