FM Belfast Announces Forthcoming Sophomore Album

By on April 27, 2011
FM Belfast Announces Forthcoming Sophomore AlbumDon’t Want to Sleep on Morr Music
“Gloriously kitschy, Commodore-64-style digipop, sung in gleefully off-kilter accented English. Kind of like a low-fi version of Röyksopp.” – SPIN
“Sure to spice up any party, catching an FM Belfast live show is sure to spice up your entire life.” – Zink
“Icelandic synth pop with tongue merrily in cheek… a frothy pleasure.” – Q Magazine
“[fun] is just the goal” – Stereogum

Download FM Belfast’s First Single “New Year” (Available to Post)

Icelandic electro-pop group FM Belfast has announced the US release of their sophomore album, Don’t Want To Sleep on Morr Music. Out on June 21, the album follows their breakout debut, How To Make Friends, and is a perfect follow up to two years of making friends, taking in experiences, sounds, and adventure.

Known for their closing performances at Iceland Airwaves every year, FM Belfast have perfected the art of engaging audiences around the world, honing a music that is catchy, runs deep, and induces extreme euphoria in large crowds, or just in headphones. Lóa Hjálmtýsdóttir and  Árni Rúnar Hlöðversson formed the band in late 2005 as a studio project, recording songs for friends as Christmas presents. Adding two more friends to the mix, Árni Vilhjálmsson and Örvar Þóreyjarson Smárason (múm), these four remain the core of FM Belfast, but will often draft their friends into the performance, with as many as 25 people ending up on stage. 

Don’t Want To Sleep was written and recorded by FM Belfast (guests include Retro Stefson’s Unnsteinn Manúel, Borko’s Borko and mighty trumpeter Eiríkur Orri Ólafsson). It retains the bouncy and joyful spirit of How To Make Friends, yet veers off into territories that the band have hitherto left unexplored. There are slow songs and introspective ones; calm, drifting meditations mixed with calls to arms and potential dancefloor workouts. And lots of fun, of course.

One of MTV’s “International Bands To Watch” at this year’s SXSW ’11, FM Belfast will return to the states for a national tour in the fall. Dates to follow shortly.

Don’t Want to Sleep Track Listing:
1. Stripes
2. American
3. Believe
4. Mondays
5. We Fall
6. Noise
7. I Don’t Want to Go to Sleep Either
8. Vertigo
9. In Line
10. New Year
11. Happy Winter

For more info, please visit:


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.