FREEZEPOP reveals its “Doppelgänger”… and announces record release shows

By on June 16, 2012
 Photo credit: RICK WEBB

Announce Record Release Shows

Renowned electro-pop quartet FREEZEPOP will be releasing Doppelgänger EP on June 19, 2012 via The Archenemy Record Company. The EP (track listing below) is comprised of remixes and new versions of tracks from the expanded version of their latest full-length Imaginary Friends. To celebrate the release of Doppelgänger, they’ll be playing a handful of East Coast release shows (dates below).

In an era of bands releasing their own music and videos, Freezepop raises the bar by not only filming three separate videos for their title track “Doppelgänger” – the original “Single” version, the cloyingly sweet “Nice” take, and the harder-edged, rockier “Douchey” version – but they also designed corresponding video skins, enabling you to switch between versions with the click of a button on their custom-built video player. A web developer by day and band multi-intrumentalist by night, Christmas Disco-Marie Sagan (keys, vocoder, theremin, backing vocals) created a minisite that adapts existing YouTube technology and creates an interface that enables you to switch between the two videos without missing a beat.

Record Release Shows
June 22 Knitting Factory Brooklyn, NY
* w/ Lifestyle, KittenBerry Crunch
June 23 Kung Fu Necktie Philadelphia, PA
* w/ Lifestyle, Crozet
June 24 Club at Water Street Rochester, NY
* w/ Lifestyle, Silent Auction

“We wanted something that wasn’t quite a literal interpretation of the lyrics, but played off on that theme,” explains vocalist Liz Enthusiasm about the need for the different videos. “Our reputation as a band is kind of ‘nice’ to begin with, so we wanted to go even nicer… but then we had to counteract it by going in the extreme opposite direction and we created the ‘Douchey’ version.” The videos were directed by Michael Gill whose credits include Amanda Palmer and Dropkick Murphys. The interactive versions can be viewed here: the original version can be viewed here:

Freezepop was formed in Boston during the summer of 1999 when electropop was barely a blip on the indie radar. To date, they have released four full-length albums, eight EPs, and a host of semi-official promo releases. Their single “Less Talk More Rokk” was the #4 Dance/Electronic Song of 2007 on iTunes. Imaginary Friends received Best Album honors in the 2011 Boston Phoenix/WFNX Best Music Poll and Best Electronic Act in the 2011 Boston Music Awards. A natural fit on videogame soundtracks, the band saw their following grow through songs in the cult music-based games Frequency and Amplitude, and then increase exponentially after appearing in several installments of the massively popular Guitar Hero series, Dance Dance Revolution, and Rock Band. Their tracks have also been featured on a wide variety of TV shows from PBS kids’ series Arthur to The L Word.

Freezepop is Liz Enthusiasm (vocals), Sean Drinkwater (keys, guitar, backing vocals), Christmas Disco-Marie Sagan (keys, vocoder, theremin, backing vocals), and Bananas Foster (keys, drums).

Doppelgänger artwork

01. Doppelganger (album version)
02. Backfired (2012 mix)
03. Doppelganger (DJ Die Young Remix)
04. Special Effects (Hanssen Remix)
05. Lose That Boy (Death of the Cool Remix)
06. Doppelganger (Plushgun 90’s Edit)
07. Special Effects (Paolo Prevosto’s Simulakrum Lab Remix)
08. Doppelganger (Douchey Mix)
09. Doppelganger (Nice Mix)


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.