Garage Punk wreckers The It*Men album GREATEST ITS + movie 9/20 at Happy Dog in Cleveland

By on August 21, 2013


The It*Men new vinyl and CD titled, Greatest Its, was advance released (6/1/13) to fans at a benefit concert for frontman Ken Janssen who was diagnosed with ALS (Lou Gehrig’s disease) last Fall. Official street date is September 17, 2013. Janssen has been a key figure in the renaissance of the Waterloo neighborhood in Cleveland and an integral part of Cleveland’s indie music scene (musician, promoter/Beachland Ballroom). The Last Waltz of the It*Men concert and record release party, was organized to support the Ken Janssen Medical Fund. The show featured sets by The It*Men, Cobra Verde, Hot Rails, New Lou Reeds, Charles Hill Jr. The money raised online, $21,000 from 250 donors, and from concerts and record sales helps to pay for operations and other medical procedures Janssen needs (medical bills continue to pile up). The festivities also marked the launch of Stow House Records.

Greatest Its, is the vinyl debut for these Cleveland garage rockers. The double-LP combines the 2004 release of the same name, along with six new songs recorded between March and April 2013. All the material was recorded and produced by The It*Men and mixed by Ben Gmetro (Dreadful Yawns) and Mike Cormier (Votla Sound) at Davenport Studio/Rehearsal Space in Lakewood, Ohio (Dreadful Yawns, Volta Sound, The Hot Rails, Exploding Lies, New Planet Trampoline). Gmetro explains “The whole album was tracked at our practice spot. What these songs lack in sonic production quality is made up for in the authenticity and immediacy of the performances.” Ryan Orvis, of Stow House Records, adds “the album is a double dose of raw, undiluted Cleveland garage punk.”

The Cleveland Plain Dealer opines “[the album] features really good punk songs, like “Come and Get Some,” “Altamonster” and, especially, “Baby I’m Your Man.”

Only limited live performances are being planned for now, and due to Janssen’s illness guest singers may perform with the band as needed. In the past the band performed and toured with artists like Mooney Suzuki, The Electric Six, Tough and Lovely, Amps II Eleven, Nathaniel Mayer. The band counts artists like MC5, The Sonics, Blue Cheer, The Stooges, Steppenwolf, Deep Purple to their influences.

The It*Men are Ken Janssen on vocals; Matt Cassidy on guitar and vocals; Ben Gmetro on guitar; Dave Molnar on bass and vocals; Charlie Druesedow on drums. Greatest Its track listing as follows:

Disc One
1. “Tell You the Truth”
2. “Come and Get Some”
3. “Baby I’m Your Man”
4. “That’s Not the Way I Heard It”
5. “W.I.P.G.A.S.”
6. “Doing Drugs for You”
7. “Altamonster”
8. “(You Gotta) Pay the Man”
9. “What’s Up, Action”
10. “Death Machine”
Disc Two
11. “Screw the Pooch”
12. “Bowie Dick Test”
13. “(Lily the) Deepthroat Killer”
14. “Modified Cobra Position”
15. “Space Dancer”
16. “It Men Stomp”

Vinyl Track Listing
Side 1
1. “Tell You the Truth”
2. “Come and Get Some”
3. “Baby I’m Your Man”
4. “That’s Not the Way I Heard It”
Side 2
1. “Doing Drugs for You”
2. “Altamonster”
3. “(You Gotta) Pay the Man”
4. “What’s Up, Action”
5. “It*Men Stomp”
Side 3
1. “Screw the Pooch”
2. “Bowie Dick Test”
3. “(Lily the) Deepthroat Killer”
4. “Modified Cobra Position”
5. “Space Dancer”
Side 4
1. “Death Machine”

Visit the band online at on or The album is available online at CD Baby, iTunes, Google Play, Spotify, Amazon MP3, Rhapsody and ZUNE. Distribution is being handled by Cobraside and Gotta Groove.


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.