Gateways: Departures review

By on December 6, 2012

Michigan outfit Gateways debut full-length album “Departures” on Hotfoot Records conveys the positive message with a full assault of hardcore music to the ears.  Not even together 2 years, the band – Jayson Ignacio, lead vocals, Rob Ketchum, guitar and vocals, guitarist Graham Lock, bassist Mike Howells, and Jake Bell on drums –play with the vocal stylist and aggression of bands like Bleeding Through and Underoath. 
Although the album’s tracks are all less than 3 ½ minutes (all but two are actually 2 ½ minutes or less) Gateways sticks to the punk template of aggressive in the smallest amount of time possible.  Holding true to their faith and wanting to provide a positive message in their music, tracks like “Insights” and “From My Side” formulaically talk about looking at yourself and finding that positive to motivate you to be a good person and not care about what other people think.  Good tracks but kind of predictable.  This plays throughout the album with other tracks as “It’s Better Than Nothing”, “The Right Direction”, and “Stop And Think”. 
Don’t get me wrong, Gateways has some potential; the last and title track highlights their harmonizing voices and really showcases their musicianship but utilizing the intensity of the screamo vocals toward the end of the song.  The uniqueness of this song does set them apart from other hardcore outfits.
“Departures” is somewhat predictable in their style of music but for hardcore lovers, Gateways is a good up-and-coming band sending their message in the best way they know how. I really wouldn’t be surprised to see them on a summer festival tour in the next year or two if they keep moving in a forward direction. 

Track Listing:

1.Breaking Bricks
2. Insights
3. It’s Better Than Nothing
4. Retaliation
5. Instrumental
6. From My Side
7. Gateways
8. The Right Direction
9. Stop and Think
10.   Departures

Pre-order “Departures” here:

Review by Andrew Wilson – HHM/RockMonthly


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.