Girl Who Sleeps with Books, Dawn Oberg Album and Tour

By on February 2, 2013



San Francisco, CA, February 1, 2013 – The new Dawn Oberg album, Rye, streets on Tuesday, April 16th, 2013.  National tour dates are lining up.  Planned tour stops will include markets like Seattle, Denver, Kansas City, Detroit, New York, Boston, Nashville, Tucson and San Francisco.

Dawn Oberg Tour Itinerary (all dates may be subject to change):
Saturday, February 9th at Viracocha in San Francisco, CA
Wednesday, April 3rd at Atlantis Lounge at Mississippi Pizza in Portland, OR
Monday, April 8th at PCTV in Park City, UT
Friday, April 12th at Segue Café in Minneapolis, MN
Sunday, April 14th at Elbo Room in Chicago, IL
Thursday, April 25th at TBA in Austin, TX
Sunday, April 28th at TBA in Los Angeles, CA
Monday, April 29th at The Mint in Los Angeles, CA

Dawn Oberg is a San Francisco-based songwriter and an active member of the city’s literary community. She grew up in rural Minnesota, attended college in Boston, with a stint in Nashville. Her influences range from Cole Porter to Hank Williams, Ray Charles to Thelonius Monk.  Her songs range in subject matter and present a unique blend of Hawthorne and Harry Crews mixed with a healthy dose of Dorothy Parker. Elegantly composed and performed, her songs combine elements of pastoral folk, boozy cabaret, and worldly jazz.  The lyrics are sometimes witty and sometimes somber and menacing.

Rye was recorded at San Francisco’s legendary Hyde Street Studios (Dead Kennedys, Tupac Shakur, 50 Cent, Green Day, George Clinton) in 2012, produced by Oberg and Lemon DeGeorge (Jolie Holland/Be Good Tanyas, Blind Willies, Inferno of Joy) and recorded by Nathan Winter. “I had a blast working with Lemon and Nathan at Hyde St.” Oberg explains. “mastering engineer Marc Chevalier of Nashville said that the CD sounds better than most new vinyl releases he’s heard. In fact, we decided it’s so good it will give you head and do your taxes. OK, I may be exaggerating about the taxes.”  Oberg’s previous releases include Horticulture Wars (2008) and You Drank My Backwash with Honky-Tonk Happy Hour (2001).

The eleven tracks on Rye are: 1. “Girl Who Sleeps with Books,” 2. “Rye,” 3. “Gentleman and a Scholar,” 4. “Reconstruction,” 5. “Parallel Plane,” 6. “Cracks,” 7. “Contortions,” 8. “Disguise,” 9. “To That Extent,” 10. “End of the Continent,” and 11. “Civic High.” The music is performed by Dawn Oberg on vocals and piano.  Musicians featured on the album include Denny Geyer on guitar (track 11); Andrew Laubacher on drums (tracks 1,2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11); Dave Mihaly on drums (tracks 3, 5, 9, vibes on track 3); Bill Noertker on  bass on all tracks; Roger Rocha of 4 Non Blondes on guitar (tracks 2, 4, 6, 7); Chris Von Sneidern on guitar (track 1) and Erik Ian Walker on organ (track 9).

“She belongs in the company of Aimee Mann and Amy Rigby,” the Nashville Scene enthused, “grown-up women who give off the kind of knowledge that makes their pop-tart competition sound like mewling Brownies.” Tony DuShane of the San Francisco Chronicle writes “Oberg’s music shines, as she is a spectacular crooner able to embrace the dark cloud of heartache and celebrate it through song.” Artists with whom Oberg has shared billing with include Ira Marlowe, Johnny Dowd, Girl Named T, Erma Kyriakos, Three Times Bad, Genna and Jesse, Chris Chandler. Visit Dawn Oberg online at or find her on Facebook and MySpace.   


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.