Greek three piece band FILM to release new album ‘Eclipse’ in Sept. on Inner Ear Records; stream single

By on July 7, 2014


Athenian outfit return with a new track, taken from the group’s forthcoming album Eclipse: “Ping Pong with Angels” is a moody synth anthem, processed voices mingle with sublime harmonies like sunbeams in the blue of the Aegean Sea. FILM’s cinematic sounds capes revolve around nihilistic urban settings and inspire celluloid fantasies.

This follows the 2009 release of their critically acclaimed album Persona, which has hailed as one of the best albums of the year by Greek music press and by various respected international music media: “Clear heritage managed so smart and lovingly on stage that it could turn into a cliche, instead it becomes exciting” Gaffa (SWE) “Pleasingly atmospheric post-pop shudder” Clash Magazine (UK) “Visually strong expression” Gaffa (DK) “Exploring the avant-garde of pop music on their latest album ‘Persona’ makes FILM an exhilarating addition to the scene of art-rock” Gogoyoko (ICE).
Film are a pop band from Athens, Greece. Film were formed in 2003 by Dimitris Borsis (vocals, keyboards, bass), Kostas Borsis (drums) and Manolis Zavitsanos (guitar). The work of this Athenian avant-garde three-piece as it morphs into a nebulous electronic amalgamation of dark-pop and 80s facets, resembles the mystique of an enigmatic motion picture soundtrack. Their flickering sequences, somber sonic textures and distorted outbreaks draw inspiration from the iconic legacy of Film’s universally-acclaimed compatriot Vangelis as well as a wide range of electronic acts of the 70s and the 80s. Film enjoy a leading status amongst the Greek indie scene and have enviable live credits with support slots for behemoths such as The Cure, New Order and The Flaming Lips. They have a discography of 3 albums and 2 singles so far and have extensively toured Europe with gigs in the UK, Switzerland, Spain, Slovenia and the Netherlands. Film have also appeared in important showcases such as SPOT (Denmark) and POPKOMM (Germany) and they did a number of gigs in Reykjavik when they were selected to play at Iceland Airwaves (Iceland). After a long period of experimentation on new material, Film recently finished the recordings of their new album, the release of which is scheduled for late September 2014.

Eclipse LP

Street date: 26 September 2014
12″/ Cd
1. Ping Pong With Angels
2. Eclipse
3. The Gun And The Deer
4. L Amour Imaginaire
5. Produkt
6. Coral
7. Star Wars
8. Timelapse
9. Waltz


Facebook Page:
Label Site:


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.