Have A Nice Life ‘Deathconsciousness’ re-issue Sept.16 on The Flenser

By on July 2, 2014

Have A Nice Life

In 2008, Have A Nice Life released their now cult classic Deathconsciousness LP to a whimper and critical non-interest.  Six years after its release, the band followed up with 2014’s stunner The Unnatural World and Deathconsciousness became a force of influence and fanatic obsession. Seamlessly blending with unparalleled depth and weight, shoegaze, post punk, new wave, industrial and noise, the album was originally released on Enemies List Home Recordings (founded by HANL members Dan and Tim). It has since floated in and out of production, with the last instantly out-of-print vinyl pressing occurring in 2009.  Now, longtime HANL collaborator The Flenser will re-issue Deathconsciousness with deluxe packaging, including a lengthy accompanying zine and colored vinyl.  Have A Nice Life commented, “Working with Flenser lets us keep things comfortable on our end, while also pressing enough copies to actually meet the need and not creating an artificially-inflated collector’s market, as happened with some of our past releases.”


The Flenser’s reissue of Deathconsciousness will be accompanied by a 75-page booklet detailing the dark and forgotten history of the Antiochean cult.  Blurring the lines between novella, liner notes, and academic text, the zine itself presents an engrossing narrative.  Deathconsciousness is rhythmic, primal and expansive and is a cult-post-punk masterpiece; a mediation on death, loss and unrequited love.  Deathconsciousness feels more fresh and engaging with every listen and has held up as a remarkable piece of art. Fans of Have A Nice Life exhibit both cultic thought and action for good reason. It is perhaps a fanbase as dark and mysterious as the Antiochean cult, the album itself revolves around. Now The Flenser is honored to rerelease Deathconsciousness a gorgeous and disarming contribution to the modern lexicon for a larger audience.


Pre-order Deathconsciousness on July 9th from The Flenser.


Deathconsciousness Available September 16th:

The Plow That Broke The Plains

1. A Quick One Before The Eternal Worm Devours Connecticut

2. Bloodhail

3. The Big Gloom

5. Hunter

6. Telephony

7. Who Would Leave Their Son Out In The Sun?

8. There Is No Food

The Future

1. Waiting For Black Metal Records To Come In The Mail

2. Holy Fucking Shit: 40,000

3. The Future

4. Deep, Deep

5. I Don’t Love

6. Earthmover


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.