Hawk and Dove announce tour dates in support of ‘This Yesterday Will Never End’

By on February 23, 2014
Hawk and Dove

Hawk and Dove is a post-Americana rock band with a calm-before-the-storm approach, a contemporary yet classic sound that’s like the psychedelic country David Bowie never wrote. “Hawk and Dove channel a ’60s pop band and a modern alternative outfit,” The Deli says. Supajam adds, “it’s almost like an alt act doing the seventies.”

Singer Elijah Miller and guitarist John Kleber met at summer camp when they were 13 years old. 12 years later, they met again in New York, where they discovered they shared a vision for the music they played. Together with AJ Sausville (drums), Joan Chew (violin and bass), Max Hodes (tenor guitar and vocals) and Caitlin Becker (keys and vocals), they have created an album deeply rooted in rock, country and psychedelia.

Their latest studio album This Yesterday Will Never End juxtaposes haunting ballads with thunderous stoner grooves, crafting a unique rock experience. And according to The Aquarian it, “transcends the boundaries created by different genres of music. Hawk and Dove transition… effortlessly, and take the listener on a journey guided by Miller’s tender singing.”

Hawk and Dove’s songs never do what you expect them to. They ramp up with enormous energy to what would normally break into some bombastic chug-a-long, then scale back with restraint to relish small moments of sonic delight. Guitar, violin and banjo drone like slow-moving glaciers. Ballads bounce with off-kilter rhythms. Keyboards tumble down the scale just when it seems they’ll ascend. This disarming inventiveness is what makes their sound so beguiling. With their steadily growing following—and a killer live show—Hawk and Dove is proving to be the loudest quiet band you have ever heard.

HAWK AND DOVE MARCH 2014 TOUR DATES

Wed. Mar. 5 – Velvet Lounge, Washington, DC

Thu. Mar. 6 – Pinhook, Durham, NC

Fri. Mar. 7 – Snug Harbor, Charlotte, NC

Sat. Mar. 8 – Nowhere Bar, Athens, GA

Sun. Mar. 9 – Swayze’s Venue, Marietta, GA

Mon. Mar. 10 – Circle Bar, New Orleans, LA

Tue. Mar. 11 – TBA, Houston, TX

Wed. Mar. 13 – SXSW/Valhalla, Austin, TX

Sat. Mar. 15 – Dan’s Silverleaf, Denton, TX

Sun. Mar. 16 – Buccaneer Lounge, Memphis, TN

Mon. Mar. 17 – Off Broadway, St. Louis, MO

Tue. Mar. 18 – Empty Bottle, Chicago, IL

Wed. Mar. 19 – Melody Inn, Indianapolis, IN

Thu. Mar. 20 – MOTR Pub,Cincinnati, OH

Fri. Mar. 21 – Garfield Artwoks, Pittsburgh, PA

 

FOR MORE INFO ON HAWK AND DOVE:

http://www.hawkanddoveband.com

https://www.facebook.com/hawkanddovenyc

DaveHHM

Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.

icon