Highasakite announce release of two new songs and return to the US

By on February 4, 2014


Norwegian quintet Highasakite have released two new tracks off their forthcoming full-length debut, Silent Treatment, out March 4th in the US, and announced their return to the US for this year’s SXSW and an album release show in New York City on Monday, March 17th at the Mercury Lounge with fellow Norwegians Team Me. These new tracks follow first single, ‘Since Last Wednesday,’ which the band performed live recently at the Norwegian Grammys.

While the band’s earlier songs were inspired by childhood and nostalgia, the theme of the new album focuses on the undercurrent that’s going on behind closed doors; the silent battles at home, and the longing to get away. It introduces a darker side to Ingrid Helene Håvik´s lyrics, but fans of her surrealistic, and often innovative views of the world won’t have to worry – it’s all there. Earning “best new band” accolades from Pitchfork, NME, Paste, and even Justin Vernon (Bon Iver) at Oslo, Norway’s Øya Festival in 2012, Ingrid Helene Håvik (zither, steel drum, vocal), Trond Bersu (drums), Øystein Skar (synths), Marte Eberso (synths), and Kristoffer Lo (guitar) released their debut EP, In and out of weeks, this past spring, receiving high praise from SPIN, NYLON, Paper, Interview, BrooklynVegan, MTV, Teen Vogue, and many more. Shortly after, they were nominated for a Norwegian Grammy as ‘Best Newcomer,’ and played their first ever shows in the US, including a week of break-out performances at SXSW.         

The last year has seen Highasakite travel around the western hemisphere. After having toured Europe and the US, visiting Berlin Music Week, Iceland Airwaves, Eurosonic, The Great Escape, Tallinn Music Week, Reeperbahn Festival, Roskilde, SPOT festival and many more, the band are ready to return to the states behind their full-length debut.

Silent Treatment Tracklisting

1. Lover, Where Do You Live?

2. Since Last Wednesday

3. Leaving No Traces

4. Hiroshima

5. My Only Crime

6. I, The Hand Grenade

7. Darth Vader

8. Iran

9. The Man On The Ferry

10. Science & Blood Tests

For more info, please visit:





Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.