Hooverphonic Announce Stateside Release of Triple-Platinum Album “The Night Before” – Out June 4th via Sony

By on April 15, 2013



Belgium’s cinematic music auteurs Hooverphonic are set to make a triumphant return to the US early this Summer with the stateside release of their triple-platinum new album The Night Before.  Due out June 4th on Sony Music, the album features Top-5 charting singles “The Night Before” and James Bond-esque “Anger Never Dies” along with several bonus tracks including a new and never-before-released song “Harmless Shapes,” a beautiful rendition of Massive Attack’s “Unfinished Sympathy,” and live versions of “One Two Three,” “The Night Before,” “Anger Never Dies.”  This record also marks the powerful introduction of Noémie Wolfs on lead vocals and she is joined by original members Alex Callier and Raymond Geerts.

The Hooverphonic story began in 1996 with the release of their debut album A New Stereophonic Sound Spectacular.  The record included the trip-hop classic “2Wicky,” which became a favorite among music supervisors and earned them international recognition when Bernardo Bertolucci picked up the song for his 1996 film Stealing Beauty.  Between 1996 and 2006, Hooverphonic released six albums and moved more than 300,000 units in the US alone.  They shared stages with the likes of Massive Attack, Morcheeba, and Fiona Apple, all the while becoming global legends in their own right.  In 2000, Hooverphonic had the honor of writing and performing “Visions,” the theme song to the European Football Championship held in Belgium that same year – a performance that was seen by more than a billion viewers.  Over the years, their music has found its way into countless film and television programs including I Know What You Did Last Summer, Permanent Midnight, Heights, CSI, Entourange, La Femme Nikita, and Cold Case.

Now it’s 2013 and Hooverphonic is excited to bring their newest and incredibly successful studio album The Night Before to the US for the first time.  They’re also thrilled to be releasing their first new track this year – “Harmless Shapes” – as part of the exclusive stateside collection.  Hooverphonic plan to support the release with a handful of US dates.  Check out https://www.facebook.com/Hooverphonic  for the most up to date information. 




1. Anger Never Dies

2. The Night Before

3. Heartbroken

4. Norwegian Stars

5. More

6. One Two Three

7. George’s Café

8. Idential Twin

9. Encoded Love

10. How Can You Sleep

11. Sunday Afternoon

12. Danger Zone

13. Unfinished Sympathy (Orchestra Version)

14. One Two Three (Live Version Classic 21 Showcase)

15. The Night Before (Live Version Classic 21 Showcase)

16. Anger Never Dies (Live Version Classic 21 Showcase)

17. Harmless Shapes


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.