I Am The Avalanche release full stream of new album ‘Wolverines’ on I Surrender Records

By on March 13, 2014

I am The Avalanche

Photo: Ryan Jay

New York City-based rock band I Am The Avalanche is pleased to announce the premiere of their brand new full-length album titled Wolverines. Being streamed in its entirety on Billboard.com, Wolverines was produced and engineered by the band’s drummer Brett “The Ratt” Romnes at The Barber Shop Studios in Lake Hopatcong, NJ and was mixed by Will Yip. Encompassing ten songs full of heart, ferocity, relentless passion and, of course, struggle, Wolverines follows the band’s sophomore album, the acclaimed Avalanche United (2011), and is now available to pre-order through I Surrender where vinyl (available on opaque pink, limited to 300) and CD bundles are exclusively being offered. The album is also available for pre-order on iTunes HERE with instant downloads of “The Shape I’m In” and “Two Runaways” for just $7.99. Stream Wolverines over at Billboard.com HERE.

Additionally, I Am The Avalanche is hitting the road in March and April on their Wolverines headline tour, starting with a very special in-store performance at Looney Tunes in West Babylon, Long Island on Monday March 17. The band will then hit major markets in the Northeast, Midwest and West Coast, including Chicago on Saturday March 22, Boston on Wednesday March 26, Philadelphia on Thursday March 27, New York City on Friday March 28, Seattle on Tuesday April 8, San Francisco on Friday April 11, Los Angeles on Saturday April 12, and San Diego, CA on Tuesday April 15. Support throughout the tour will be provided by The Swellers, Diamond Youth, Turnover and Bellwether on select dates. Tickets for the upcoming tour are on sale now, and additional information can be found on the band’s official website, http://www.iamtheavalanchenyc.com.

To the members of I Am The AvalancheVinnie Caruana (vocals), Brandon Swanson (guitar), Brett “The Ratt” Romnes (drums) and John Oliva (bass) – Wolverines is their most anthemic and cohesive full-length album to date and stands as a fitting body of work to the band’s natural progression. Their self-titled debut record, released in 2005, was the sound of a band finding themselves in the context of their scene that, through their associations, couldn’t help but define them, even if they didn’t want them to. The band’s second album, Avalanche United, was written across a long, drawn-out six-year period, and the uncertainty of their situation during that time pierces that particular record’s constructs.

There were no such problems with Wolverines, however – it’s a powerful record through and through, a complete set of songs that each play a specific and vital part on the album. “I think it’s our most well thought-out and least rushed record,” says Caruana. “Times spent at rock bottom and also feelings of personal triumph have shaped what I feel is the perfect record for us as a band and for our supporters as well.”

I Am The Avalanche will be making the following U.S. appearances starting next week. Tour dates below.

Wolverines Tour 2014

17 – Long Island, NY – Looney Tunes (in-store)
18 – Rochester, NY – Bug Jar  *
19 – Syracuse, NY – Lost Horizon  *
20 – Pittsburgh, PA – Smiling Moose  *
21 – Detroit, MI – Shelter  *
22 – Chicago, IL – Subterranean  *
23 – Cleveland, OH – Now That’s Class  *
25 – Poughkeepsie, NY – The Loft  *
26 – Boston, MA – Great Scott  *
27 – Philadelphia, PA – Barbary  *
28 – New York, NY – Marlin Room at Webster Hall (w/ The Swellers, Turnover, Bellwether)
29 – Asbury Park, NJ – Asbury Lanes (w/ The Swellers)

08 – Seattle, WA – Vera Project  #
09 – Portland, OR – Star Theater  #
11 – San Francisco, CA – Thee Parkside  #
12 – Los Angeles, CA – The Roxy  #
13 – Anaheim, CA – Chain Reaction  #
15 – San Diego, CA – Che Café  #

* = w/ The Swellers and Turnover
# = w/ Diamond Youth and Turnover







Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.