Icelandic Composer Ólafur Arnalds Debuts First Track Off New Album

By on January 22, 2013


Icelandic composer Ólafur Arnalds has announced the release of his new studio album, For Now I Am Winter, due out on April 2nd with Mercury Classics. On this album, composer Nico Muhly provided orchestral arrangements, and for the first time Arnalds introduces vocals to his soundworld. Icelandic singer Arnór Dan can be heard on four tracks. Fans in the US and Canada can also take part in a special pre-order of the LP, in which their names will appear in the album liner notes in a physical package and will receive additional fan items at The pre-order is active now until February 18th.

Fresh off lauded performances at Iceland Airwaves, including an intimate KEXP live broadcast performance, Arnalds continues to steadily build a reputation as one of the world’s most bright and able young composers. On his past outings and last studio album …And They Have Escaped the Weight of Darkness, the basis was almost always piano and strings with electronic embellishments. Now the dynamic has shifted, with Arnalds thinking in terms decidedly more poppy than before. “I think it’s by far the best thing I’ve done. I’m really happy that I made this decision to try something different.” The concept of evolution and seasonal change is one which has been ever-present in his music. Here it continues both musically and conceptually – a personal evolution as a composer and, for the first time, as a songwriter.  

Purveying a neo-classical style with an array of influences which range from electronica to minimalism, Arnalds is an artist who draws from a variety of sources whilst maintaining his own unique sound. Since the release of his 2007 debut, Eulogy for Evolution, the 26-year-old, has put his name to a variety of projects. Since 2009 he has scored films and TV shows including Another Happy Day, ITV’s upcoming drama Broadchurch and the Vanessa Hudgens-starring feature film Gimme Shelter, as well as having tracks featured on the soundtracks to Hollywood hits The Hunger Games and Looper. He’s also released two EPs each composed in a week; Found Songs in 2009 and Living Room Songs in 2011. Both of these collections featured works written and recorded in a day, the former innovatively released through Twitter and the latter released to his fans with accompanying videos through his social media channels and website.


For Now I Am Winter Tracklisting

1. Sudden Throw 

2. Brim 

3. For Now I Am Winter 

4. A Stutter 

5. Words of Amber 

6. Reclaim 

7. Hands, be Still 

8. Only The Winds 

9. Old Skin 

10. We (Too) Shall Rest 

11. This Place Was A Shelter 

12. Carry Me Anew

For more information, please visit:   


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.