Jared Followill from Kings of Leon and Nick Brown Release Smoke & Jackal today

By on October 17, 2012

RCA Records announces the release of EP1, the debut EP from Smoke & Jackal. The six-track collection arrives in stores and at all digital retailers today, October 16.
EP1 marks the first collaboration between Jared Followill (Kings of Leon) and Nick Brown (Mona). Smoke & Jackal were revealed to the universe earlier this year as BBC Radio 1 Zane Lowedebuted the EP’s electrifying first single, “No Tell,” officially declaring it to be the “Hottest Record in the World.” AOL Spinner, Clash,  Huffington Post UK and Team Coco have all since premiered different tracks from the EP.
Followill and Brown began recording as Smoke & Jackal earlier this year, fueled by multiple bottles of red wine and a shared fascination with timbre, rhythm, and aural adventure. They set to work at Brown’s Nashville home studio and before the first evening was through, the duo had crafted both “No Tell” and the stunning psychedelic slow jam, “Fall Around.” The two musicians immediately understood they had created something special, an evocative and original melding of oceanic rock with bottomless grooves and hypnotic dub textures. Just over one week later, EP1 was complete. Defined by Followill’s liquid bass lines and Brown’s soaring and expressive vocals, songs like “Road Side” and the closing “Save Face” are both ingenious and accessible, their surprising soundscapes counterpointed by indelible melodies and haunting hooks. Smoke & Jackal’s EP1 is the sound of two talented friends allowing their music to freely go places no one could have anticipated.
“It was all about tone and vibe and what felt right in that moment,” Brown says. “Not second guessing, just having fun in that moment.”
“Coming together just worked,” says Followill. “I think it’s because we took such an easy approach to it, we didn’t bring any egos to it. We just talked about each other’s ideas, neither one of us got our feelings hurt. It just worked.”
EP1 was produced by Smoke & Jackal, and engineered by Nick Brown. All songs were written by Smoke & Jackal (see attached tracklisting).
For more information, please see www.smokeandjackal.com.
Release Date: October 16, 2012
  1. Fall Around
  2. No Tell
  3. You’re Lost
  4. Road Side
  5. OK OK
  6. Save Face
Smoke & Jackal is Jared Followill & Nick Brown
All Songs Written by Smoke & Jackal
Recorded at Zionnoiz Studios in Nashville, TN
Produced by Smoke & Jackal
Engineered by Nick Brown
Mixed by Nick Brown with Jared Followill

Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.