Joy Williams releases ‘What A Good Woman Does’ from eagerly awaited solo album ‘Venus’

By on May 26, 2015
joy williams

In anticipation of her eagerly awaited new solo album VENUS, Joy Williams has released a brand new track, “What A Good Woman Does,” today. Check out the “haunting new song,” as dubbed by Marie Claire, HERE. “What A Good Woman Does” is now available as an instant download to fans who pre-order the album, along with VENUS acclaimed first single, “Woman (Oh Mama)” and also “Until the Levee.” VENUS  is available for pre-order now and will be released June 30th on Sensibility Music/Columbia Records. The album’s full track listing is below.

Speaking on the new track, Joy Williams says:
“I don’t know when I started believing this, but I used to think if you’re a good woman you can’t be messy, and you can’t be mad. I’ve been learning that neither of those two things is true. This is that moment when you want to call someone up and give them a piece of your mind, but you don’t because you know that no good will come of it. I’ve learned sometimes it is enough to let yourself feel the anger. It doesn’t mean that you have to always act on it. Anger can actually bring a searing clarity, and moving through that anger can eventually bring peace. And if you’re wondering: yes, this song is about the ending of The Civil Wars.
The whole emphasis of my new album VENUS is I’m discovering what it means to be a woman. It’s not necessarily the things I was taught. It’s the things I’m learning on my own. The good, the bad and the ugly is all in there. To be strong and to be weak, and to be scared and to be bold, and to be angry and to forgive, and to be broken and to break open, and break through, and to be hurt and to do the hard work to heal. That’s the type of woman I want to be.”

1. Before I Sleep
2. Sweet Love of Mine
3. Woman (Oh Mama)
4. One Day I Will
5. Not Good Enough
6. What a Good Woman Does
7. Until the Levee
8. You Loved Me
9. The Dying Kind
10. Till Forever
11. Welcome Home


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.