Kasper Bjørke Explores The Night Life of Thai “Lady Boys” In New Video for ‘Bohemian Soul’

By on October 25, 2012

Danish producer and DJ Kasper Bjørke has premiered a striking new music video for the single “Bohemian Soul” featuring Laid Back. While traveling in the islands of Thailand, director Karim Huu Do came up with the idea of a mini-documentary about the world of “Lady Boys,” as they are affectionately known in the country. Intrigued by their popularity and social stature, he was curious to know more about this open and accepted subculture. He centered the film around Bam-Bam, a young Lady Boy from Northern Thailand. Bam-Bam was a simple, funny and shy lady by day, but by night, she transformed into an extravagantly bedecked “Beyonce.” Karim was inspired by Bjørke’s dreamy song, taken from his third studio album, Fool via hfn music (Trentemøller).

Bjørke’s albumFool is split in two sides with a playful mixture of abundant, pop-infused bittersweet love songs on the ‘Hunger’ side, and more spaced-out psychedelic disco voyages on the ‘Foolish’ side. After leaving his A&R chair at indie label Fake Diamond, where he discovered and developed acts like Oh Land, Bjørke now mainly focuses on studio work. As a remixer, he has, reworked tracks from Moby and Oh Land, to hfn & In My Room label mates Trentemøller and Darkness Falls.

  Watch the video for ‘Bohemian Soul (feat. Laid Back)’ at Noisey or YouTube

Fool Tracklisting
A – Hungry Side
01. Hummingbirds (with Jacob Bellens)
2. Lose Yourself to Jenny (with Jacob Bellens)
3. Deep is the Breath (with Jacob Bellens and Emma Acs)
4. Sunrise (with Jacob Bellens)
B- Foolish Side
5. Overture
6. D.O.A.H.
7. All I hear is Drums
8. Bohemian Soul (with Laid Back)
9. Ubiquitous
10. US Escape
For more info, please visit:  

Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.