Kathleen Hanna’s ‘The Julie Ruin’ Announce First Ever Tour + Sundance Selects Acquires ‘The Punk Singer’

By on June 25, 2013



In 1997 legendary Riot Grrrl pioneer Kathleen Hanna (Bikini Kill, Le Tigre) released a solo album under the name‚ “Julie Ruin” with the intention of forming a band to perform the songs live. In 2010, with Le Tigre on hiatus, Kathleen began to build her dream team with whom she recorded The Julie Ruin debut album. Titled Run Fast, the album will be released September 3rd via TJR Records, distributed via Dischord
The Julie Ruin is thrilled to announce their FIRST EVER tour taking their fierce lyrics, stomping beats and flying guitar across North America. The band will perform at Fun Fun Fun Fest and make stops in NYC, Los Angeles DC & more! The Julie Ruin provides a tight musical backbone to Hanna’s iconic vocal style. In addition to “Just My Kind” mixed by James Murphy (DFA, LCD Soundsystem), Kathleen Hanna was at the helm, mixing “Goodnight Goodbye” and “Oh Come On” recently released as a FREE MP3.
A celebrated, outspoken figure at the forefront of feminist punk, Kathleen Hanna has collaborated on The Riot Grrrl Collection book and today Sundance Selects announced that they have acquired North American rights to Sini Anderson’s punk rock documentary THE PUNK SINGER. Hanna, lead singer of the punk band Bikini Kill and dance-punk trio Le Tigre, rose to national attention as the voice of the riot grrrl movement, but when she stopped shouting, many wondered why. Through 20 years of archival footage and intimate interviews with Kathleen Hanna, THE PUNK SINGER offers viewers a never-before-seen view into the life of this fearless leader.
The Julie Ruin features Kathi Wilcox on bass (Bikini Kill bandmate), Kenny Mellman on keys (’Kiki and Herb’), Carmine Covelli on drums (actor, filmmaker and musical juggernaut) & Sara Landeau on guitar (met Kathleen mentoring at Rock Camp for Girls.)



Run Fast Tracklist
1. Oh Come On
2. Ha Ha Ha
3. Just My Kind
4. Party City
5. Cookie Road
6. Lookout
7. Right Home
8. Kids In NY
9. Goodnight Goodbye
10. South Coast Plaza
11. Girls Like Us
12. Stop Stop
13. Run Fast


Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.