MACHINE GUN KELLY LANDS MTV’s 2011 HOTTEST BREAKTHROUGH MC!

By on December 17, 2011

Machine Gun Kelly Lands
MTV’s 2011 HOTTEST BREAKTHROUGH MC 


PREPS FOR 2012 TOURS WITH TECH N9NE  
AND VANS WARPED TOUR

NEW “LACE UP” EP HITS STORES IN THE SPRING

EST 19XX/Bad Boy/Interscope Records signee Machine Gun Kelly, or MGK, is the winner of MTV’s 2011 “Hottest Breakthrough MC” competition. The poll-based contest announced its winner on MTV’s RapFix Live yesterday, December 14th. MGK bested fellow MC’s A$AP Rocky, Future, Roscoe Dash, French Montana, Mac Miller, Kendrick Lamar, Lil Twist, Freddie Gibbs and Meek Mill. Last year’s winner of the Hottest Breakthrough MC competition was Wiz Khalifa, who edged Nicki Minaj and went on to have one of the year’s biggest impacts.

MGK understands the awards impact: “It’s been such an unbelievable year. I’m so passionate about the Lace Up movement,” the MC said. “I can’t thank my fans enough for believing in me and making something like this possible.”

Born Richard Colson Baker in Texas, MGK and his missionary parents took up residence in multiple countries around the world including Egypt and Germany, before settling in his “hometown” of Cleveland, Ohio. He earth-quaked the standstill mid-west’s quiet Hip Hop landspace in early 2010 with a series of loud and fiery mixtapes. Popularized by the viral video “Chip Off The Block”, which registered greater than 3.4million views on YouTube, MGK began to get nods from major label heads. But it was the ground-rattling GB Hitz-produced single “Wild Boy”, featuring Waka Flocka Flame, which substantiated MGK’s rising star status. He announced the official video for “Wild Boy” on 106 and Park on December 8, 2011. In only a few days, the viral fire was set with the rowdy moshpit party hit exceeding 4.5million views on YouTube.

MGK recently announced the upcoming release season for his debut album “LACE UP”, which is set for a Summer 2012 release. Already a commercial success, MGK’s “Invincible” song is featured in television and radio advertisements for hot new 4G Smartphone the HTC Rezound from Verizon Wireless. The popular cellular gadget’s headsets are powered by Beats Audio.

MGK will also hit the road on two separate tours to kick off the New Year. First, MGK will join Kansas City MC Tech N9ne for an ambitious “90 Dates in 99 Days” cross -country run. Then, the rapid-fire MC will hop on the legendary Vans Warped Tour that has helped launch amazing careers for superstars like Eminem.

MGK made headlines earlier this month when he motivated a 17 year-old fan, Ryan Yex, born with Cerebral Palsy to walk for the first time ever by inviting him on stage during a performance in his hometown Cleveland.

After releasing a succession of mixtapes, including “100 Words and Running”, “Lace Up” and “Rage Pack”, the energetic city-hopping MC was approached by Bad Boy CEO Sean “Diddy” Combs after a performance at SXSW Music Festival in Austin, TX. Impressed by MGK, the legendary star-maker signed the artist to his Bad Boy Records label in August of 2011, and announced this signing during an appearance on 106 & Park on December 8, 2011.

For full details and the latest information on Machine Gun Kelly and his upcoming “LACE UP” album, added Tour Dates, and Videos visit www.MGKlaceup.com and follow MGK on Twitter www.Twitter.com/MachineGunKelly 

“90 Dates in 99 Days” tour dates:

Wed. March 21                    Kansas City, MO                        Independence
Fri. March 23                        Kansas City, MO                        Midland
Sat. March 24                       Kansas City, MO                        Midland
Sun. March 25                      Wichita, KS                                 Cotillion
Tues. March 27                     Tulsa, OK                                    Cains
Wed. March 28                     Oklahoma City, OK                   Diamond Ballroom
Sat. March 31                        New Orleans, LA                      House Of Blues
Sun. April 1                            Houston, TX                              Warehouse Live
Sun. April 1                            Galveston, TX                            House Of Blues
Thurs. April 5                         Austin, TX                                  Emo’s East
Fri. April 6                              Dallas, TX                                   House Of Blues
Sat. April 7                             Amarillo, TX                              Civic Center
Tues. April 10                        Albuquerque, NM                    Sunshine 
Wed. April 11                        Farmington, NM                       Top Deck
Thurs. April 12                      Flagstaff, AZ                               Orpheum Theatre
Fri. April 13                           Tempe, AZ                                  Marquee Theatre
Sat. April 14                          Tucson, AZ                                  Rialto Theatre
Sun. April 15                         San Diego, CA                            House Of Blues
Tues. April 17                        Las Vegas, NV                           House Of Blues
Wed. April 18                        Los Angeles, CA                       House Of Blues
Thurs. April 19                      Ventura, CA                              Ventura Theatre
Sat. April 21                          San Luis Obispo, CA                Poza Saloon
Sun. April 22                         Santa Cruz, CA                         Catalyst
Tues. April 24                        San Francisco, CA                    Regency Ballroom
Wed. April 25                        Sacramento, CA                      Ace Of Spades
Thurs. April 26                      Reno, NV                                  Knitting Factory
Fri. April 27                           Chico, CA                                  Senator
Sun. April 29                         Medford, OR                           Armory
Tues. May 1                           Bend, OR                                 Midtown
Wed. May 2                          Eugene, OR                             Mcdonald Theatre
Thurs. May 3                        Portland, OR                           Roseland
Fri. May 4                              Yakima, WA                            Sundome/Capital Theatre
Sat. May 5                             Seattle, WA                             Showbox SoDo/Market              Tues. May 8                          Spokane, WA                         Knitting Factory
Wed. May 9                          Missoula, MT                         Wilma Theatre
Thurs. May 10                      Boise, ID                                  Knitting Factory                               Sat. May 12                          Salt Lake City, UT                    Saltair
Sun. May 13                        Grand Junction, CO                Two River Convention Center
Tues. May 15                       Aspen, CO                               Belly Up
Wed. May 16                       Colorado Springs, CO            Black Sheep (2 Nights)
Thurs. May 17                     Ft. Collins, CO                         Aggie Theatre
Fri. May 18                           Denver, CO                             Red Rocks/Fillmore
Sat. May 19                          Casper, WY                            Civic Center
Sun. May 20                         Billings, MT                            Shriners Auditorium
Tues. May 22                        Rapid City, SD                       Rushmore Convention Center
Thurs. May 24                      Fargo, ND                              The Venue
Fri. May 25                           Sioux Falls, SD                       Ramkota Exbit Hall
Sat. May 26                          Minneapolis, MN                 Epic/Myth
Sun. May 27                         Omaha, NE                            Sokol Hall
Tues. May 29                        Des Moines, IA                     Val Air Ballroom
Wed. May 31                        Madison, WI                        Orpheum Theatre
Fri. June 1                             Milwaukee, WI                     Eagles Ballroom
Sat. June 2                            Chicago, IL                             House Of Blues
Sun. June 3                           Indianapolis IN                     Egyptian Room
Tues. June 5                          Ft. Wayne, IN                       Grand Wayne Ballroom
Wed. June 6                          Grand Rapids, MI                The Orbit Room
Thurs. June 7                        Detroit, MI                            Emerald Theatre
Fri. June 8                              Cleveland, OH                      Agora/House Of Blues
Sat. June 9                             Columbus, OH                     LC Pavillion
Sun. June 10                          Pittsburgh, PA                      Stage AE
Tues. June 12                        Buffalo, NY                           Town Ballroom
Fri. June 15                            Worcester, MA                    Palladium
Sat. June 16                           Sayerville, NJ                       Knitting Factory
Sun. June 17                          Philadelphia, PA                 Electric Factory
Tues. June 19                        Baltimore, MD                    Rams Head Live
Wed. June 20                        Norfolk, VA                          Norva
Thurs. June 21                       Charlotte, NC                      Tremont Music Hall
Fri. June 22                            Myrtle Beach, SC                House Of Blues
Sat. June 23                           Atlanta, GA                          Center Stage
Sun. June 24                          Orlando, FL                          Firestone
Wed. June 27                        St. Petersburg, FL                Jannus Live
Thurs. June 28                       Tallahassee, FL                    Vinyl Music Hall
Wed. July 4                            Louisville, KY                        Expo Live
Thurs. July 5                          St. Louis, MO                        Pageant





DaveHHM

Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.

icon